Blue Pill counting number of pulses using timers

Post here all questions related to LibMaple core if you can't find a relevant section!
Kovaxant

Blue Pill counting number of pulses using timers

Post by Kovaxant »

Hello everyone!

My first post and asking for help already. I'm new to all this arduino and Blue Pill stuff. Had to learn a lot to solve a problem.
What I'm trying to do is count the number of pulses every second for 5ms. I'm using counters for time interrupts and for counting the number of pulses.
I have checked with my oscilloscope that the board gets the pulses at the proper pin. When copilling I get no errors, but the serial shows 67 pulses counted while there should be more than 200 (I'm feeding it a 44100 Hz signal). Moreover it "counts" those 67 pulses with no signal attached. Every now and then it shows 85 counted pulses. I could use some help.

Cheers, Domagoj

Here''s the code:

Code: Select all

/*
Pulses counter

*/

#define COUNT_RATE 1000000  // in microseconds; gives 1Hz toggles
#define COUNT_TIME 5000 // in microseconds; gives 5ms count time

uint16_t timer3CH1CounterValue;

void setup()
{
  Serial.begin(115200);

// setup PA6 (Timer3 channel 1) as input (capture input mode)
  pinMode(PA6, INPUT);

// setup timer 2 interrupt after COUNT_RATE microseconds
  Timer2.setMode(TIMER_CH1, TIMER_OUTPUTCOMPARE);
  Timer2.setPeriod(COUNT_RATE); // in microseconds
  Timer2.setCompare(TIMER_CH1, 1); // Overflow
  Timer2.attachInterrupt(TIMER_CH1, count_pulses);
}

void loop()
{
}

void count_pulses(void) // configure timers, starts counting
{
  // stop the timers before configuring them
  Timer3.pause();
  Timer4.pause();

// setup timer 3 channels 1 and 2 capture on rising edge
  Timer3.setMode(TIMER_CH1, TIMER_INPUT_CAPTURE); 

Timer3.refresh(); // reset the counter to 0, update configuration

Timer3.getCompare(TIMER_CH1); // clear capture flag NEEDED?

// setup timer 4 interrupt after COUNT_TIME microseconds