wiki.stm32duino account creation disabled due to spam

Information on the latest releases
RogerClark

wiki.stm32duino account creation disabled due to spam

Post by RogerClark » Tue Oct 04, 2016 4:44 am

Guys

I've had to disable non verified account creation on the wiki.stm32duino.com as the wiki has been bombarded with spam and it looks like its going to take me a while to get rid of it all

Unfortunately I can't simply restore a backup as there are legitimate edits as well as spam over the last 2 or 3 days

I'm not sure if I'll need to disable public wiki access to the github wiki as well, but perhaps github is not so prone to this

neo2121

Re: wiki.stm32duino account creation disabled due to spam

Post by neo2121 » Thu Oct 06, 2016 1:00 pm

Is there no way to put a Recaptcha on it or something similar to stop spam? Let me know if i can help, I don't have experience with wiki systems, but I'm a PHP/HTML developer.

RogerClark

Post by RogerClark » Thu Oct 06, 2016 8:40 pm

I think there is a way to add that, but I found most generic anti spam measures didnt work on this forum.

What worked was to ask a technical question, ( albeit a simple one about the LED pin on a Uno board), because either the spam is generated by bots or by people who have no way to look up the answers to questions etc.

I am sure there would be a way to add such a question to the mediawiki account creation page, but i am not sure if there is a plugin architecture for this, or whether it would mean changing some pages and making them non static.

I had thought of manually moderating the requests, but I could not see an option on mediawiki to do that, and looking at the volume of spam users that were created in 2 or 3 days, I now think I would get swamped in spam account creation emails, e.g 50 or more a day. So that would not be workable.

The other option, though I dont know if its too late, is to use the forum's DB for the wiki's user DB.