Problem getting CAN to work on STM32F767

Working libraries, libraries being ported and related hardware
0v3rcl0ck3d

Problem getting CAN to work on STM32F767

Post by 0v3rcl0ck3d »

Hi,
hope this is the right spot to post this problem. I am trying to get CAN working on a custom board with a STM32F767. However, I am completely stuck and there is no progress anymore with try and error. Since the code of the project is not open, I am not able to share the whole project but I am able to share the needed code snippets.

I already studied the reference manual of this processor but I am not experienced with low level coding.

I hope this description is useful for you. I try to implement CAN like it is documented here:
https://github.com/stm32duino/Arduino_C ... _hal_can.c

I used this as help:
viewtopic.php?f=39&t=313&start=10

(I also tried to implement CAN using the following but was not able to get it working (first time using low level code and first time using CAN):
https://github.com/nopnop2002/Arduino-STM32-CAN
but as far as I understand, this has nothing to do with the implementation above.)

A MCP2551 is placed there (snipped from board layout)
mcp2551_on_board.png
mcp2551_on_board.png (64.68 KiB) Viewed 6924 times
:

Snippets from variant.h of the custom board:

Code: Select all

#define HAL_CAN_MODULE_ENABLED
Snippets from PeriphalPins.c of custom board. RX is on PB12, TX on PB13.

WEAK const PinMap PinMap_CAN_RD[] = {
    //  {PA_8,  CAN3, STM_PIN_DATA(STM_MODE_AF_PP, GPIO_NOPULL, GPIO_AF11_CAN3)},
    //  {PA_11, CAN1, STM_PIN_DATA(STM_MODE_AF_PP, GPIO_NOPULL, GPIO_AF9_CAN1)},
    // {PB_3,  CAN3, STM_PIN_DATA(STM_MODE_AF_PP, GPIO_NOPULL, GPIO_AF11_CAN3)}, // D23
    // {PB_5,  CAN2, STM_PIN_DATA(STM_MODE_AF_PP, GPIO_NOPULL, GPIO_AF9_CAN2)}, // D22 (D11)
    // {PB_8,  CAN1, STM_PIN_DATA(STM_MODE_AF_PP, GPIO_NOPULL, GPIO_AF9_CAN1)}, // D15 (A5)
    {PB_12, CAN2, STM_PIN_DATA(STM_MODE_AF_PP, GPIO_NOPULL, GPIO_AF9_CAN2)}, // D19