Signal Generator Using DDS

What are you developing?
mrmonteith

Signal Generator Using DDS

Post by mrmonteith » Fri Feb 05, 2016 7:41 pm

I didn't want to hijack the code snippets discussion on the AD9850. But wanted to share some things I'm working on regarding using a DDS signal generator and some findings.

As a new ham operator I've been thinking of a few projects involving radio, rf, and micros. One of the projects uses a QRP Pixie. The Pixie is a small transceiver that you can get as a kit for less than $4. It works on the 40M band, which is ~7.025-7.125Mhz. Of course for a $4 transceiver you can't expect many features. The one limitation right off the bat is it comes with a 7.023 crystal, which you're stuck with if you solder it in. The 7.023 is not a frequency a Tech can broadcast on here in the states. The other option is mount a 2-in screw terminal and then you can swap out crystals. But then you're limited to a finite set of crystals and could add up in costs and a pain to change frequency.

Another alternative is to use DDS signal generator to feed the circuitry whatever frequency you wish, within the range of the transceiver circuitry. Basically leaving off the onboard oscillator components and feeding the DDS signal directly into the board. This of course gives complete control over the frequency range.

Here are several DDS signal generators I'm looking at:
1. AD9833 - 0-12.5 Mhz
2. AD9850 - 0-50 Mhz
3. AD9851 - 0-70 Mhz
4. Si5351 - 0-150 Mhz
5. Si5351A - 0-290 Mhz

About all of these have breakout boards or you can buy complete units with display, rotary encoders or buttons. There are usually plenty of examples and code out there for all of the devices. I personally have the AD9850, Si5351, and the AD9833 that I bought off E-Bay. the Ad9833 is on it's way.