Hello from Stockholm

Please read this if you are new to the STM32

Message to all users

I've upgraded the forum (PHPBB) to version 3.1.10 which is the last stable release in the 3.1 tree.

As far as I can tell everything is still working OK, e.g. all posts look like they are there and the attachments are OK

If anyone has any problems please PM me.
PS. Don't PM the admin account as for some reason I still don't get email notifications of these PM's (but I never have ;-)

MartinP

Hello from Stockholm

Postby MartinP » Fri Nov 25, 2016 9:12 pm

Howdy.

I found out about the Maple Mini just about a year ago (can't remember where though).
I'm a mechanical engineering student, very fund of mechatronics and embedded systems.

Today my latest creation took its first own steps.

Looking forward to envolve myself, instead of just lurking around.
Cya!

RogerClark

Re: Hello from Stockholm

Postby RogerClark » Fri Nov 25, 2016 9:29 pm

Welcome Martin.

Thanks for sharing your video

Can you add some comments to your video, saying its using a Maple mini etc, and perhaps link to this post.

If you find that the Maple Mini does not have enough CPU speed, or you need floating point maths, there are more (cheap - less than $10) STM32F407 boards starting to come out of China, which we should be able to support soon.

MartinP

Postby MartinP » Fri Nov 25, 2016 9:46 pm

Hi Roger.
Will do.

I might look into the boards later on. I have a long way to go until I know if the PID is too CPU-hungry or not 8-)

This is what I'm up against:

(The 3 identical cars uses Teensy 3.1 if I'm not wrong)

RogerClark

Postby RogerClark » Fri Nov 25, 2016 9:55 pm

Teensy is faster than the Maple mini. Clock speed is higher and it has FPU, (but its $25 not $5 !)

I just bought this board from AliExpress for under $10

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/STM32F4 ... 0.0.xnyky1