Hello and help

tjm

Hello and help

Post by tjm » Sun Sep 24, 2017 9:40 pm

Hi I'm new to programming microcontrollers but did a bit with ESP8266 and decided to try STM.The board I have is STM Smart v2 and Arduino set for Generic STM32F103C. I got blink and a little more advanced version to work and now I'm trying to get i2c to work. I loaded the hardware address scanning example but got no serial output at all. In commenting out various lines it appear that the line error = HWire.endTransmission(); never returns. Currently there is nothing attached to PA6 & 7 so I was expecting a message of no addresses found but nothing.

Any suggestions would be appreciated

Tom

RogerClark

Re: Hello and help

Post by RogerClark » Sun Sep 24, 2017 10:05 pm

Welcome...

A few things, seem wrong.

Wire is now Hwire, so you may be using an old version.

Also, yiu say nothing is attached... Does that include pullups... I2C needs pullups even if nothig is connected.

tjm

Post by tjm » Sun Sep 24, 2017 10:52 pm

Hi Roger
Thanks for the quick reply. Here is the snippet from the end of comments which seem to indicate it should be using Hwire. I downloaded the STM_master zip today in case there were some update.

I am getting an error on the upload but it seems to be related to a missing file
Starting download: [##################################################] finished!
error resetting after download: usb_reset: could not reset device, win error: The system cannot find the file specified.
state(8) = dfuMANIFEST-WAIT-RESET, status(0) = No error condition is present

I thought the STM32F103 had built-in pullups; but no I don't have pullups attached. I'll try to find some 10K resistors and put them in place.
Thanks again
Tom

Code: Select all

// Version 6, August 1, 2015
//    Modified to support HardWire for STM32duino
//
// This sketch tests the standard 7-bit addresses
// Devices with higher bit address might not be seen properly.
//

#include <Wire.h>