Old timer catching up...

castortiu

Old timer catching up...

Post by castortiu » Tue Nov 07, 2017 9:08 am

Hello,

I’m not very old but old enough to see in the sink my hair falling every month, I’m a programmer for the last 33 years, when I was a kid I had burnt many CIA 6526 on my old C64, dang… I used to cry every time burned one 6526 playing with the cartridge slot to turn devices and LEDs since after that I had to work cutting grass in the neighborhood for like 2 weeks to able to buy one again, I was 11 then ;)

Originally I’m from Argentina but long story short after 3 decades I find myself working for a multinational software company in Seattle, life is good however I miss my old love, I have a degree in electronics however electronic degrees won’t take you too far in Argentina, so instead I pursued Computer Science as a main career, at age of 18 I was making car alarms with my own hardware design using discrete logic, then I upgraded my designs to use PICs from microchips, there was my first interactions with micro-controllers in assembler, C compilers were incredible expensive and memory was a very limited resource so had to learn assembler :), did that for a couple years then I started to program computers professionally and the rest is story.

For the last 6 months I started with microcontrollers again, amazing how much it advanced and stay the same in very long time.
Started to play with Arduino AVR ATmega328 and did some gadgets, however now I’m trying to do some more heavy stuff and the 328 is falling short at 16Mhz, then found this amazing piece of work porting stm32 to Arduino.

A week ago I picked 1 STM32 from Amazon to get it in a day and ordered 6 more from ebay to play with overclocking and just in case burn them.

Currently I’m building back my office with instruments like oscilloscope, wave generators, power supply, logic analyzer, many components, smd equipment, CNC machine to manufacture my own PCB prototypes, etc.