jfitter: STM32 on the Sunshine Coast

jfitter

jfitter: STM32 on the Sunshine Coast

Post by jfitter » Tue Feb 13, 2018 3:39 pm

Hi. I am from the Sunshine Coast in the state of Queensland, Australia. We have lots of sunshine as the name implies but lots of rain too - recently anyway. I am an engineer and started my career in the mines, eventually through research and consulting to my own business working from home. I do everything from board level design through to firmware development. When you are the only employee it is not an option. I am now working at a nearby University doing part time teaching (physics) and working on a PhD in radar design. I cycle for fitness and do some racing too. I have a son who is part way through his engineering degree majoring in software engineering and fitting it in with a cycling training schedule. He rides for a pro team and is a past world champion on the track so his training commitments are exceptional. Other than my research, my current main project is the development of a dynamic balancing system for small jet turbines. I have a partner in this, a long time friend, and he does all of the machining. The balancer is unique in that it does not require that the rotor be removed from the motor. Data is acquired and filtered by an stm32 and sent over classic bluetooth to a pc, phone or tablet and the software for these devices is already written. The data packets are large and have to be sent very quickly so this is pushing the stmduino to its limits. Other projects in various stages of completion (there are many) are mostly associated with radio controlled aircraft power and control systems, except for my network enabled water tank level transmitter and lately an attempt to turn a two dollar electric wall clock into a network enabled atomic clock.

mrburnette

Re: STM32 on the Sunshine Coast

Post by mrburnette » Tue Feb 13, 2018 7:01 pm

jfitter: Welcome.