GCC missing?

Windows XP,Vista,7,8 and 8.1 etc
Post Reply
Zodio
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2016 10:32 am

GCC missing?

Post by Zodio » Sun Sep 11, 2016 10:50 am

Hi, all.

So, I saw this site and immediately want to give it a go. I am new to STMs, but ive used arduino for everything from LED blinky to a solar system controller. The board i am working with is the STM32F429i-ZIT(F4-DISC1), which is backwards compatible with the F4-DISC0. I am on windows 10.

I've followed the instructions at http://www.stm32duino.com/viewtopic.php?f=20&t=32, watched both videos and tried to read around the new forum before posting this. I've run through the copying, online installs and even Maple driver installs. Restarting IDE, and PC in between the various processes.

My issue is probably simple, but as a new guy, i cant see where i went wrong. I have tried IDE 1.6.8 (which i see isn't supported) then moved to IDE 1.5.8, as i saw that work in the video. No need to go through errors in 1.6.8 I'm sure, so here's the error in 1.5.8: "Cannot run program "{runtime.tools.arm-none-eabi-gcc.path}/bin/arm-none-eabi-g++": CreateProcess error=2, The system cannot find the file specified".

I have Keil uV5, CubeMX, ST-Link utility, among other free compilers while I was learning the ropes. I've used GCC compiler in Matlab's Waijung blockset and I have got a Stateflow controller running with it for a 13-mode transmission. (What I'm trying to say is, i think GCC is working.)

The goal of this is to ask a pro if i you can see something i have missed, or some basic step i skipped in my enthusiasm. Do i use arduino IDE itself? Do i run one of the Java machines in the Arduino_STM folder?

Thank you for reading and any replies!

User avatar
RogerClark
Posts: 7134
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 10:36 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: GCC missing?

Post by RogerClark » Sun Sep 11, 2016 11:03 am

I suspect you missed the step that said you need to install a SAM or SAMD Arduino board (Due or Zero), as that's what installs the ARM compiler.

stevestrong
Posts: 1735
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 12:06 am
Location: Munich, Germany

Re: GCC missing?

Post by stevestrong » Sun Sep 11, 2016 1:26 pm

I think the Arduino_STM32 will only work with IDE 1.6.5, previous versions are not supported, but is also working with 1.6.9, too.

User avatar
RogerClark
Posts: 7134
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 10:36 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: GCC missing?

Post by RogerClark » Sun Sep 11, 2016 9:05 pm

1.6.10 also works fine.

The problem with 1.6.6 , 1.6.7 , 1.6.8 etc was the IDE team did not make them backwards compatible with exiting cores.

However they now corrected this oversight

Zodio
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2016 10:32 am

Re: GCC missing?

Post by Zodio » Mon Sep 12, 2016 7:27 am

Thanks, Roger and Steve!

I swapped out 1.6.8 and 1.5.x for 1.6.5, and it worked! I will try 1.6.11 at a later stage once I manage to get my hello world working on this environment.

Mister Clark: You were correct. I didn't install the Due/Zero packages on the 1.5.8, just fluffed it up somehow until i saw the boards but not the GCC.

It is working now! Yay

User avatar
RogerClark
Posts: 7134
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 10:36 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: GCC missing?

Post by RogerClark » Mon Sep 12, 2016 8:40 am

Cool

I think 1.6.11 works, but I've not upgraded yet. 1.6.10 definitely works

Cheers

Roger

Post Reply