TX2 RX2... Am I missing something?

Maple Mini, Maple Rev3, Maple Rev 5 and Maple Ret 6, iTead Maple etc
Nutsy
Posts: 237
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2016 4:26 pm

TX2 RX2... Am I missing something?

Post by Nutsy » Tue Aug 09, 2016 1:26 pm

Is there a trick to getting these pins working?
Im trying to send data to a second board via Serial2, isnt tx2 and rx2 serial 2? Or do I need to change a pin mode for these pins? if so, how?

User avatar
Pito
Posts: 1502
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 3:26 pm
Location: Rapa Nui

Re: TX2 RX2... Am I missing something?

Post by Pito » Tue Aug 09, 2016 2:14 pm

Serial2.print (on PA3=RX2 and PA2=TX2) works fine here (Maple Mini) (init with Serial2.begin(115200);).
No need to configure the pins.
IDE 1.6.10., latest 32duine core.
You must X the signals when doing Serial2Serial, btw.
Pukao Hats Cleaning Services Ltd.

Nutsy
Posts: 237
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2016 4:26 pm

Re: TX2 RX2... Am I missing something?

Post by Nutsy » Tue Aug 09, 2016 2:44 pm

Yeah, got that side working it seems... Im trying to use Easy Transfer library to get my maple to send some basic values to a mini arduino to run my stepper motors...

But for some reason i cant get the arduino to read data...

Nutsy
Posts: 237
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2016 4:26 pm

Re: TX2 RX2... Am I missing something?

Post by Nutsy » Tue Aug 09, 2016 3:58 pm

More fiddling about and it seems its something wrong with the maple. Its sending something out, i hooked my usb serial to it and did a serial consol.
But maybe the data its sending out isnt quite right for the arduino to read... I dont know :( Maybe Easy Transfer needs a proper port for maple mini and doesnt work out the box.

User avatar
Pito
Posts: 1502
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 3:26 pm
Location: Rapa Nui

Re: TX2 RX2... Am I missing something?

Post by Pito » Tue Aug 09, 2016 4:04 pm

Maple is 3.3V and arduino is usually 5V signaling. Use at least 1kohm resistors in series with the signal wires (or better a level shifter)..
Pukao Hats Cleaning Services Ltd.

Nutsy
Posts: 237
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2016 4:26 pm

Re: TX2 RX2... Am I missing something?

Post by Nutsy » Tue Aug 09, 2016 5:01 pm

I didnt know that :( I also dont have any resistors :(

Ho fun, time to do some shopping i guess...

User avatar
Pito
Posts: 1502
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 3:26 pm
Location: Rapa Nui

Re: TX2 RX2... Am I missing something?

Post by Pito » Tue Aug 09, 2016 5:46 pm

:) Actually you need 1 resistor (1kohm or higher), it is a workaround only, better to use a level shifter or 3.3V arduino

Arduino TX 5V ----> resistor 1k ------> MapleMini RX 3V3
Arduino RX 5V <-------------------------- MapleMini TX 3V3
Arduino GND <--------------------------> MapleMini GND
Pukao Hats Cleaning Services Ltd.

Nutsy
Posts: 237
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2016 4:26 pm

Re: TX2 RX2... Am I missing something?

Post by Nutsy » Tue Aug 09, 2016 6:11 pm

well... the receiving end is the arduino. So the ard cant pick up the 3.3v signal?
Ive ordered some logic level converters.
But yeah the arduino isnt reading the easy transfer packets... Where i can make my uno talk to my arduino pro mini...

zmemw16
Posts: 1374
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 2:09 pm
Location: St Annes, Lancs,UK

Re: TX2 RX2... Am I missing something?

Post by zmemw16 » Tue Aug 09, 2016 6:14 pm

isn't maple i/o 5v tolerant?
isn't a high state for either side about 2v2 or is that just for ttl?

stephen

User avatar
Pito
Posts: 1502
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 3:26 pm
Location: Rapa Nui

Re: TX2 RX2... Am I missing something?

Post by Pito » Tue Aug 09, 2016 6:20 pm

But yeah the arduino isnt reading the easy transfer packets...
as a first step try to xchange some bytes to verify your hw works, then you may mess with protocols..
Pukao Hats Cleaning Services Ltd.

Post Reply