TX2 RX2... Am I missing something?

Nutsy
Posts: 237
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2016 4:26 pm

Re: TX2 RX2... Am I missing something?

Post by Nutsy » Tue Aug 09, 2016 6:26 pm

I only have one Maple at the moment... The best I could do is try to read the serial coming out of the maple through a usb serial adapter. Its not plane text data...

Ive been using the Easy Transfer RX and TX blink examples to try and test it...

As i mentioned I could get it to work with the Uno and Pro mini... but not the Maple Mini and Pro Mini...

User avatar
Pito
Posts: 1372
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 3:26 pm
Location: Rapa Nui

Re: TX2 RX2... Am I missing something?

Post by Pito » Tue Aug 09, 2016 6:40 pm

send a packet from Maple to Uno
MM Tx ------> Uno Rx
Gnd --------- Gnd
So you can test, both speeds for example 9600.
At the beginning of MM prog wait for example 5secs, then send the packet to Uno (Uno at that time is receiving already)..
Do not use SoftSerial..
Pukao Hats Cleaning Services Ltd.

Nutsy
Posts: 237
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2016 4:26 pm

Re: TX2 RX2... Am I missing something?

Post by Nutsy » Tue Aug 09, 2016 8:13 pm

interesting... I wrote a quick sketch to make the led flash when it receives data... Any data. And it does flash when the maple sends something.

So the Pro Mini is receiving, so why isnt easy transfer working? :/

User avatar
Pito
Posts: 1372
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 3:26 pm
Location: Rapa Nui

Re: TX2 RX2... Am I missing something?

Post by Pito » Tue Aug 09, 2016 8:30 pm

There is EasyTransfer_TX_Example and RX example.
Run the EasyTransfer_TX on MM and RX on the Promini. It should work.
Wiring as above. Do not use SoftSerialET example.
Pukao Hats Cleaning Services Ltd.

Nutsy
Posts: 237
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2016 4:26 pm

Re: TX2 RX2... Am I missing something?

Post by Nutsy » Wed Aug 10, 2016 10:06 am

thats the examples i tried... they didnt work.

edogaldo
Posts: 252
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2016 8:19 am

Re: TX2 RX2... Am I missing something?

Post by edogaldo » Wed Aug 10, 2016 10:26 am

@Nutsy, just a tip: did you consider the data types differences between Arduino and Maple? I.e. in Arduino an int is 16 bits while in Maple it's 32 bits.
Maybe this can impact the transfer between the 2 different boards..

Nutsy
Posts: 237
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2016 4:26 pm

Re: TX2 RX2... Am I missing something?

Post by Nutsy » Wed Aug 10, 2016 2:30 pm

No i didnt, I didnt know serial connections would be different...

Is there a way to force either board to one type?

edogaldo
Posts: 252
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2016 8:19 am

Re: TX2 RX2... Am I missing something?

Post by edogaldo » Wed Aug 10, 2016 2:37 pm

Nutsy wrote:No i didnt, I didnt know serial connections would be different...

Is there a way to force either board to one type?
I think you can use int16 or int32 on both sides.

User avatar
Pito
Posts: 1372
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 3:26 pm
Location: Rapa Nui

Re: TX2 RX2... Am I missing something?

Post by Pito » Wed Aug 10, 2016 3:05 pm

The Q is whether the Easy Transfer functions can process those differences in types (ET does the transfer in binary form).
Pukao Hats Cleaning Services Ltd.

Nutsy
Posts: 237
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2016 4:26 pm

Re: TX2 RX2... Am I missing something?

Post by Nutsy » Wed Aug 10, 2016 3:21 pm

i really do some times wonder if all this is beyond me and i should pack it in :(

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest