[SOLVED] STM32F103CBT6 BOOT Problem

Generic boards that are not Maple or Maple mini clones, and don't contain the additional USB reset hardware
Nawfal
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2017 2:57 pm

Re: STM32F103CBT6 BOOT Problem

Post by Nawfal » Tue Aug 29, 2017 3:44 pm

Rick Kimball wrote:
Tue Aug 29, 2017 3:43 pm
You said you loaded the blinky sketch. You didn't say if it works. Have you seen it work?
Yes, it's working fine.....the timing also works fine

User avatar
Rick Kimball
Posts: 1038
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2015 1:26 am
Location: Eastern NC, US
Contact:

Re: STM32F103CBT6 BOOT Problem

Post by Rick Kimball » Tue Aug 29, 2017 3:48 pm

Do you leave the stlink connected when you power off and on? Or are you disconnecting the stlink device?
-rick

Nawfal
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2017 2:57 pm

Re: STM32F103CBT6 BOOT Problem

Post by Nawfal » Tue Aug 29, 2017 3:49 pm

Rick Kimball wrote:
Tue Aug 29, 2017 3:48 pm
Do you leave the stlink connected when you power off and on? Or are you disconnecting the stlink device?
I leave it connected. I tried removing it before and after the power cycle and It's giving the same results

User avatar
Rick Kimball
Posts: 1038
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2015 1:26 am
Location: Eastern NC, US
Contact:

Re: STM32F103CBT6 BOOT Problem

Post by Rick Kimball » Tue Aug 29, 2017 3:51 pm

Do you leave the stlink powered on?

Have you tried disconnecting the stlink?

What is the voltage of your VDD when you measure it with a meter?
-rick

Nawfal
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2017 2:57 pm

Re: STM32F103CBT6 BOOT Problem

Post by Nawfal » Tue Aug 29, 2017 3:53 pm

Rick Kimball wrote:
Tue Aug 29, 2017 3:51 pm
Do you leave the stlink powered on?

Have you tried disconnecting the stlink?

What is the voltage of your VCC when you measure it with a meter?
The voltage is 3.28V
And yes, I tried disconnecting the ST-Link without succes so far

User avatar
Rick Kimball
Posts: 1038
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2015 1:26 am
Location: Eastern NC, US
Contact:

Re: STM32F103CBT6 BOOT Problem

Post by Rick Kimball » Tue Aug 29, 2017 3:54 pm

Why does your schematic show SWD connected to LMS 3v3?
-------- ... never mind ... that is not SWD but the target voltage.
-rick

Nawfal
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2017 2:57 pm

Re: STM32F103CBT6 BOOT Problem

Post by Nawfal » Tue Aug 29, 2017 3:56 pm

Rick Kimball wrote:
Tue Aug 29, 2017 3:54 pm
Why does your schematic show SWD connected to LMS 3v3?
It is the output from a voltage regulator

User avatar
Rick Kimball
Posts: 1038
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2015 1:26 am
Location: Eastern NC, US
Contact:

Re: STM32F103CBT6 BOOT Problem

Post by Rick Kimball » Tue Aug 29, 2017 3:58 pm

Do you know how to use arm-none-eabi-gdb .. maybe it is booting up but encountering some other error before it is able to run the loop() function

You might start up st-util and put a breakpoint on the reset routine and step through
-rick

Nawfal
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2017 2:57 pm

Re: STM32F103CBT6 BOOT Problem

Post by Nawfal » Tue Aug 29, 2017 3:58 pm

Do I need to use a bootloader though I am using the ST-LINK???
Last edited by Nawfal on Tue Aug 29, 2017 4:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Nawfal
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2017 2:57 pm

Re: STM32F103CBT6 BOOT Problem

Post by Nawfal » Tue Aug 29, 2017 3:59 pm

Rick Kimball wrote:
Tue Aug 29, 2017 3:58 pm
Do you know how to use arm-none-eabi-gdb .. maybe it is booting up but encountering some other error before it is able to run the loop() function

You might start up st-util and put a breakpoint on the reset routine and step through
No, do you have some link where I can look at??

Post Reply