[SOLVED] Embarassed Newbie

Generic boards that are not Maple or Maple mini clones, and don't contain the additional USB reset hardware
dennyjim

[SOLVED] Embarassed Newbie

Post by dennyjim » Wed Jan 31, 2018 1:07 pm

Hi I'm just getting started with STM32F103C8 and tried to run the test on pc13 I get an error

link:23: error: 'pc13' was not declared in this scope

pinMode(pc13, OUTPUT);

I ran this the other day with no problem.

Here is what I got
BlinkError.txt
(7.29 KiB) Downloaded 6 times
By nice I'm a 62 year old newbie and retention ain't that clever no more :? :? :?

electrobling

Re: Embarassed Newbie

Post by electrobling » Wed Jan 31, 2018 1:15 pm

Did the one you ran the other day use "PC13", not "pc13"?

mrburnette

Post by mrburnette » Wed Jan 31, 2018 1:21 pm

dennyjim wrote:
Wed Jan 31, 2018 1:07 pm
Hi I'm just getting started with STM32F103C8 and tried to run the test on pc13 I get an error

link:23: error: 'pc13' was not declared in this scope

pinMode(pc13, OUTPUT);

I ran this the other day with no problem.

Here is what I got

BlinkError.txt

By nice I'm a 62 year old newbie and retention ain't that clever no more :? :? :?
There are lot of examples in our section of github.com, they all "should" compile and run without error.
https://github.com/rogerclarkmelbourne/ ... s/examples

I'm 67, so I think I can answer your question from the prospective as one of your elders :D

Take a look at a proper example of blink below. Essentially, you must tell your sketch (program) what pc13 means ... you can do this several ways. Remember "upper/lower case matters!)

Code: Select all

#define BOARD_LED_PIN PB1        // Maple Mini board LED pin# 33
#define ONE_SECOND 1000          // 1000 mS
void setup() {
    // Set up the built-in LED pin as an output:
    pinMode(BOARD_LED_PIN, OUTPUT);
}

void loop() {
    digitalWrite(BOARD_LED_PIN,!digitalRead(BOARD_LED_PIN));// Turn the LED from off to on, or on to off