STM32F091 ADC resolution 10 bit instead of 12 bit

STM32F103 Nucleo boards e.g. STM Nucleo F103RB
zmemw16
Posts: 1494
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 2:09 pm
Location: St Annes, Lancs,UK

Re: STM32F091 ADC resolution 10 bit instead of 12 bit

Post by zmemw16 » Tue Jun 27, 2017 3:26 pm

roger,
could you please try it with 7.5v / 9v / 12v and report your findings :D
actually 12v would be redundant as i already know the answer is copious.
stephen

User avatar
Rick Kimball
Posts: 1060
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2015 1:26 am
Location: Eastern NC, US
Contact:

Re: STM32F091 ADC resolution 10 bit instead of 12 bit

Post by Rick Kimball » Tue Jun 27, 2017 5:39 pm

fpiSTM wrote:
Tue Jun 27, 2017 12:20 pm
wow there's lot of smoke here :)

To sum up, stm32 is 3.3V based so provide 5V as input ADC should bring some strange behavior... Mainly for ADC reading.

FYI, on the next release analogRead(0) and analogRead(A0) will be equivalent.
whereas analogWrite(0) is equivalent to analogWrite(D0) .
I tried the latest github source code version with this change and I can verify that it indeed works with just 1 now in addtion to A1.
-rick

User avatar
RogerClark
Posts: 7500
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 10:36 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: STM32F091 ADC resolution 10 bit instead of 12 bit

Post by RogerClark » Tue Jun 27, 2017 9:32 pm

zmemw16 wrote:
Tue Jun 27, 2017 3:26 pm
roger,
could you please try it with 7.5v / 9v / 12v and report your findings :D
actually 12v would be redundant as i already know the answer is copious.
stephen
I may try 5v again, because I have 2 old Red Pill boards, which are partially broken already, as the USB connections keep breaking

Post Reply