F105 support

Post here first, or if you can't find a relevant section!
C_D
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon May 11, 2015 3:27 am
Location: New Zealand

F105 support

Postby C_D » Sun Jan 08, 2017 8:30 pm

I had a search of the forums and didn't get many hits on "F105", is there currently any support for these chips? Specifically the STM32F105R8T6.

I have a device that I've been prototyping with a Blue Pill STM32F103 and I am getting a small run of custom boards made for further testing. My manufacturer has an STM32F105R8T6 already in stock which they get at a great price as they buy them in decent quantities, but I cant workout if this is in anyway compatible with the existing STM32Duino code.

User avatar
RogerClark
Posts: 5044
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 10:36 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: F105 support

Postby RogerClark » Sun Jan 08, 2017 8:47 pm

I thought someone had mentioned the F105 before, but I also searched the site and cant find a mention of it.

So it looks like you are on your own with this one ;-)

But even if the LibMaple core doesn't work with the F105, it should be possible to modify the STM F1 core to handle the F105 ( albeit, we have not done much porting of the STM core either, so its hard to know what problems they may be .

C_D
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon May 11, 2015 3:27 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: F105 support

Postby C_D » Sun Jan 08, 2017 8:51 pm

So it *may* work but no one has really tried?

User avatar
martinayotte
Posts: 1123
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 1:45 pm

Re: F105 support

Postby martinayotte » Sun Jan 08, 2017 9:00 pm

According to STM specs, there is not much difference between F105 and F103. Just take a look starting at page 40.

User avatar
RogerClark
Posts: 5044
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 10:36 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: F105 support

Postby RogerClark » Sun Jan 08, 2017 11:06 pm

C_D wrote:So it *may* work but no one has really tried?


I think that about sums it up.

I recall trying an F101 and it seemed to work (at least for the basic functions, so its likely that the basics will work "out of the box" on the F105, but you'd have to give it a try.

BTW. I recall the F105 is better than the F103, but I can remember precisely in what way

What was the attraction of the F105 for you, availability and cost ?

User avatar
mrburnette
Posts: 1743
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 12:50 pm
Location: Greater Atlanta
Contact:

Re: F105 support

Postby mrburnette » Tue Jan 10, 2017 1:32 pm

Yep ... Roger mentioned the F105 in passing a couple of years back:
http://www.stm32duino.com/viewtopic.php?t=755&start=10#p8457

Essentially, try it. If it works, report back. If it does not work, no one said it would without some tweaking :o

Ray

User avatar
RogerClark
Posts: 5044
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 10:36 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: F105 support

Postby RogerClark » Tue Jan 10, 2017 9:00 pm

mrburnette wrote:Yep ... Roger mentioned the F105 in passing a couple of years back:
http://www.stm32duino.com/viewtopic.php?t=755&start=10#p8457

Essentially, try it. If it works, report back. If it does not work, no one said it would without some tweaking :o

Ray


Thanks Ray.
I thought it was mentioned before, but google could not find it.


Return to “General discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest