Copying stm32 chip

Post here first, or if you can't find a relevant section!
Jateu01

Copying stm32 chip

Postby Jateu01 » Sun Mar 05, 2017 2:34 pm

Hi All,

Silly question for everyone. I'm not a developer or a coder. I have a damaged brushless motor controller and I have found the fault to be the stm32 chip. I have removed it and replaced it with a new one. My problem is that I need to copy the data from a working chip to this new one. Can anyone offer advice or point me in the right direction.

Many thanks

James

RogerClark

Re: Copying stm32 chip

Postby RogerClark » Sun Mar 05, 2017 8:28 pm

See this acrive thread

viewtopic.php?f=35&t=1854

Basically, if the stm32 is read protected, which its likely to be, then you will probably not be able to read the program inside it

You may be able to send it away to get it unlocked at a laboratory, ( for a large fee )

Jateu01

Postby Jateu01 » Sun Mar 05, 2017 8:38 pm

I don't think it is protected. The esc can be upgraded with new firmware at any time. The thing is I have limited knowledge of this but whst I do know is the that the esc's board has 5 desitict areas where links have been made. I have back tracked and here are a list of pins on the stm32f051k6t6.

Reset pad links to pin 4 reset.
DIO pad links to pin 23 SWDIO.
TX pad links to pin 24 SWCLK.
RX pad links to pin 25
BT pad links to pin 31 Boot.
TLM pad links to pin 24 SWCLK.
PWM pad links to pin 26 SPI1_SCK.

Which of these do I need to read the chip. Because this is what looks like the manufacturer us to program with.

Many thanks again

James

BennehBoy

Postby BennehBoy » Sun Mar 05, 2017 9:08 pm

Do you need to read it? Or can you not just load the firmware from the manufacturer?
-------------------------------------
https://github.com/BennehBoy

Jateu01

Postby Jateu01 » Sun Mar 05, 2017 9:16 pm