Need advise on logic analyser

Post here first, or if you can't find a relevant section!
dev
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2017 8:41 am

Need advise on logic analyser

Postby dev » Sun Mar 19, 2017 4:47 am

Hi,
I am looking for cheap logic analyser. I searched on aliexpress but got too many results.

I want to hear out of experience people who are using one of them.

Found some clones of salae logic analyser.

Riva
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri May 06, 2016 6:42 am

Re: Need advise on logic analyser

Postby Riva » Sun Mar 19, 2017 8:34 am

I have one of these that I use at work and one of these (now discontinued but the Scanalogic2 is the same without a case) that I use at home.
Software wise I really like the ScanaStudio software best (apart from the slightly dodgy DMX decoder script) as it trumps Salae and others I have used.

User avatar
Pito
Posts: 609
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 3:26 pm
Location: Rapa Nui

Re: Need advise on logic analyser

Postby Pito » Sun Mar 19, 2017 8:35 am

FYI: I am using the rather old, simple, but cheapest $50 (16ch, 200MSps)
https://www.seeedstudio.com/preorder-op ... l?cPath=75
with
https://github.com/jawi/ols
PC front end.

You must update firmware (pic and fpga to the latest), needs some effort, however.

User avatar
BennehBoy
Posts: 384
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 8:21 pm
Location: Yorkshire
Contact:

Re: Need advise on logic analyser

Postby BennehBoy » Sun Mar 19, 2017 9:23 am

I use one of these, but not bought from this website -> http://hobbycomponents.com/testing/243- ... c-analyser

I then did this -> http://www.jwandrews.co.uk/2011/12/sale ... ogramming/

Which means it works with Saleae Logic's software
-------------------------------------
https://github.com/BennehBoy


User avatar
Pito
Posts: 609
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 3:26 pm
Location: Rapa Nui

Re: Need advise on logic analyser

Postby Pito » Sun Mar 19, 2017 11:47 am

24MHz is quite a low sampling rate. Today 100MHz is a minimum.
This could be an interesting option (around $67 at aliexpress).
http://hackaday.com/2015/05/26/review-d ... -analyzer/
Not tested, however.

david.prentice
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2016 8:52 am

Re: Need advise on logic analyser

Postby david.prentice » Sun Mar 19, 2017 11:58 am

If you are in the UK, the Saleae Logic-8 clone is £12.99 from a UK vendor on Ebay. i.e. it arrives in 2 days.
HobbyComponents is a good company. Similar price. Good service.

Yes, you can buy Chinese stuff cheaper from China. You just have to wait for a long time.
Yes, it should work with the Saleae software immediately.

If you are not in the UK, only you know what your mail service is like.

David.

Edit. 24MHz is fine for most jobs. The Logic-8 is well proven.
Yes, faster would be nice. But only when I have heard the experience from actual owners.

User avatar
Pito
Posts: 609
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 3:26 pm
Location: Rapa Nui

Re: Need advise on logic analyser

Postby Pito » Sun Mar 19, 2017 12:15 pm

Try to watch the 18MHz SPI transactions with a 24MHz sampling rate.. Or 36MHz SPI.. ;)
Of course, for watching 115k2 uart or 400kHz I2C the 24MHz sampling is ok.


david.prentice
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2016 8:52 am

Re: Need advise on logic analyser

Postby david.prentice » Sun Mar 19, 2017 1:59 pm

I quite agree. 24MHz is marginal for 12MHz SPI. Fine for 8MHz SPI.

If I want to debug some fast SPI, I slow the SCK down to 8MHz.
In practice, all AVR jobs and most STM32 jobs are fine with 24MHz sampling.

A Logic Analyser is only as good as the software. And "real-life" user experence.

David.


Return to “General discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: efftek and 2 guests