Can I use the ARDUINO IDE with STM32F030K6 ?

Post here first, or if you can't find a relevant section!
Post Reply
Gennady
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2017 1:31 pm

Can I use the ARDUINO IDE with STM32F030K6 ?

Post by Gennady » Sun Oct 15, 2017 2:34 pm

Hi!
I have a finished device on STM32F030K6 (32 pin, 32K/4K). I want to change the program in it. By this link

https://community.st.com/community/stm3 ... rduino-ide

I learned that the ARDUINO IDE supports the Nucleo F030R8 with the STM32F030R8 controller. Can I use the ARDUINO IDE to work with STM32F030K6 by modifying in part the boards.txt file or other files?
Thank you!

User avatar
RogerClark
Posts: 7174
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 10:36 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Can I use the ARDUINO IDE with STM32F030K6 ?

Post by RogerClark » Sun Oct 15, 2017 9:13 pm

Look at STMs official core

https://github.com/stm32duino

fpiSTM
Posts: 226
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2016 12:33 pm
Location: Le Mans, France

Re: Can I use the ARDUINO IDE with STM32F030K6 ?

Post by fpiSTM » Mon Oct 16, 2017 7:27 am

Hi Gennady,

it should be closed to the R8. The K6 has lesser connectivities (only 1 SPI, 1 I2C and 1 USART instead of 2 for the R8).
Else it seems the same.
you could have a look to the R8 as an example and create your own variant following this wiki:
https://github.com/stm32duino/wiki/wiki ... nt-(board)

The main things to do is to generate the PeripheralPins.c for the R6.

Gennady
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2017 1:31 pm

Re: Can I use the ARDUINO IDE with STM32F030K6 ?

Post by Gennady » Mon Oct 16, 2017 8:02 am

Hi, fpiSTM!

Thanks for the link, it's now clearer. I think that it will be possible to edit the files for the Nucleo F030R8 board. The main thing that I realized is that it is possible to work in Arduino IDE with all STM32F030 and specifically with STM32F030K6.

Thank you!

fpiSTM
Posts: 226
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2016 12:33 pm
Location: Le Mans, France

Re: Can I use the ARDUINO IDE with STM32F030K6 ?

Post by fpiSTM » Mon Oct 16, 2017 8:17 am

welcome.
do not hesitate if you have any question/issue.
Note that the F030R8 is currently only available on the git repo.
It will be available through the board manager into the next release of the core.

Post Reply