Batch Automated Compile

Post here first, or if you can't find a relevant section!
Post Reply
alexandros
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2017 6:51 pm

Batch Automated Compile

Post by alexandros » Fri Nov 10, 2017 11:53 am

Hello guys ,
I was wondering if there is any way to batch compile a sketch.
what i mean is , i want to open a .h library (not all the project with arduino IDE ) make some changes with notepad , and compile through a bat file to get the bin file , But i want also all the settings from the Arduino IDE to be the same , like CPU clock for example.

Is there any way to do that?

stevestrong
Posts: 1837
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 12:06 am
Location: Munich, Germany

Re: Batch Automated Compile

Post by stevestrong » Fri Nov 10, 2017 12:15 pm


alexandros
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2017 6:51 pm

Re: Batch Automated Compile

Post by alexandros » Fri Nov 10, 2017 8:24 pm

does it worked for you? because i am still straggling.. :D

ag123
Posts: 811
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2016 4:24 pm

Re: Batch Automated Compile

Post by ag123 » Sat Nov 11, 2017 3:32 pm

i think there are arduino makefiles
https://github.com/sudar/Arduino-Makefile

i've wanted to use them, partly because i'm not actually using arduino ide, i'm using eclipse and not using sloeber plugin.
sloeber is the other pretty cool eclipse plugin for arduino, it is discussed in the ide section
http://eclipse.baeyens.it/
but i'm using gnu-arm-eclipse, it is a pretty cool set of plugins worth checking out, it even have a arm (stm32) emulator and openocd debug integration
https://gnu-mcu-eclipse.github.io/

gnu-arm-eclipse depends quite heavily on setting up the parameters, defines, includes etc manually in eclipse, once it is setup it works well compiling arduino sketches in eclipse, you could find more info about these in the ide section.

the trouble of course is that gnu-arm-eclipse is rather dependent on that manual setup in eclipse, the configs are actually stored in xml files
and when the core is updated or when setting up a new project, i've had to redo all the settings all over.

hence, i've intended to use arduino makefiles instead but didn't delve sufficiently into it yet

Post Reply