ECA Board Issues

If you made your own board, post here, unless you built a Maple or Maple mini clone etc
User avatar
BrotherV
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2015 12:44 pm
Location: Iran, Esfahan
Contact:

ECA Board Issues

Post by BrotherV » Tue Dec 01, 2015 4:05 pm

Hello everyone(sorry about my English)
I've started working with STM32 less than a week and now I have a problem. I read many topics but I did not find right solution.
I have bought a custom board and this board does not have a bootloader. unfortunately, I do not know how to use with stm32loader.exe
Image
So, I tried to find another way and I found a solotion http://www.scienceprog.com/flashing-pro ... ootloader/
I've downloaded Flash Loader Demonstrator software and connected PL2303 USB to serial converter to the board.(BOOT1=0; BOOT0=1)
Image
Now the software can't communicate with board.
Image
How can I solve this problem. I am grateful that you help me.

User avatar
martinayotte
Posts: 1182
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 1:45 pm

Re: ECA Board Issues

Post by martinayotte » Tue Dec 01, 2015 5:31 pm

You probably need to first diagnose the PL2303 itself in stand-alone with loopback between TX/RX. Make sure you have echo in Putty or other terminal.
This is because there are many USB-TTL which use clone chips, and the official drivers on Windows prevent them to work properly.
On Linux, this is not an issue, the drivers are working properly.
With FTDI chips, it is even worse, if you have ever heard about their "bricking" driver.

User avatar
BrotherV
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2015 12:44 pm
Location: Iran, Esfahan
Contact:

Re: ECA Board Issues

Post by BrotherV » Tue Dec 01, 2015 6:35 pm

PL2303 works well, Actually I'm programming Arduino pro mini with this.
Image
Image

User avatar
martinayotte
Posts: 1182
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 1:45 pm

Re: ECA Board Issues

Post by martinayotte » Tue Dec 01, 2015 10:13 pm

Don't have much clues to give.
In the mean time, you can maybe try with the stm32flash tool, there is a Windows version in Arduino_STM32/tools/win/stm32flash.exe

User avatar
RogerClark
Posts: 6108
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 10:36 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: ECA Board Issues

Post by RogerClark » Tue Dec 01, 2015 10:56 pm

Did you set Boot0 to High and make sure Boot1 is Low, then reset or power cycle the board

It should work, as all USB to serial I have tried including the PL and CP ones work fine

PS.

Post a link to the board on the suppliers website and also a schematic if possible

stevech
Posts: 442
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2015 6:32 am

Re: ECA Board Issues

Post by stevech » Tue Dec 01, 2015 11:35 pm

RogerClark wrote:Did you set Boot0 to High and make sure Boot1 is Low, then reset or power cycle the board

It should work, as all USB to serial I have tried including the PL and CP ones work fine

PS.

Post a link to the board on the suppliers website and also a schematic if possible
I've had so many problems with the Windows 7 driver for the Prolific USB/Serial adapters/cables that I will buy ONLY FTDI chip based USB/Serial.

User avatar
RogerClark
Posts: 6108
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 10:36 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: ECA Board Issues

Post by RogerClark » Wed Dec 02, 2015 12:03 am

Strange

Both the pacific and the sil labs boards work fine for me under W7 prof

stevech
Posts: 442
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2015 6:32 am

Re: ECA Board Issues

Post by stevech » Wed Dec 02, 2015 4:53 am

RogerClark wrote:Strange

Both the pacific and the sil labs boards work fine for me under W7 prof
I think it depends on what Prolific chipset is in the product. Especially the older chips.
I buy if the FTDI logo is on the package. Or on-line if it claims to use FTDI.
Because I've wasted too much time on flaky non-FTDI.

Buying a USB/Serial adapter at retail is like a ... box of chocolates!

User avatar
RogerClark
Posts: 6108
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 10:36 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: ECA Board Issues

Post by RogerClark » Wed Dec 02, 2015 5:00 am

Sorry

Mine are Prolific not "Pacific"

http://prolificusa.com/pl-2303hx-drivers/

I tend to stay away from FTDI as its impossible to tell if they are real or fake, i.e even the expensive ones may be fake so there is no point taking the risk of FTDI bricking them for you

User avatar
BrotherV
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2015 12:44 pm
Location: Iran, Esfahan
Contact:

Re: ECA Board Issues

Post by BrotherV » Wed Dec 02, 2015 9:19 am

This board designed with a Persian company ECA Team http://eshop.eca.ir/%D9%85%D8%AD%D8%B5% ... board.html
Unfortunately, this board does not have a switch for Boot1 and I set it manually 0 with 10K resistor. Is there the possibility that the chip is broken?
schematic of board:
Image

Connectivity:
Image

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest