ECA Board Issues

If you made your own board, post here, unless you built a Maple or Maple mini clone etc
User avatar
RogerClark
Posts: 6375
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 10:36 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: ECA Board Issues

Post by RogerClark » Wed Dec 02, 2015 10:29 am

Its unlikely that the chip is broken (but not impossible)

You must pull Boot1 LOW (but I see you have done this with a 10k resistor

Try Boot0 switch in both positions

Failing that, its best to buy a cheap STLink programmer tool

E.g. Like this

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Mini-ST-Link-V2 ... SwstxVOgsj

I don't know if they ship to Iran, but I'm sure you can find a vendor who will send to you


BTW. Also sometimes, with the STM Flash Loader, I have to press Reset several times before it works e.g.

press 2 or 3 times, the try connecting with the STMFlash Loader program

madias
Posts: 813
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 11:26 am
Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: ECA Board Issues

Post by madias » Wed Dec 02, 2015 12:09 pm

I have to agree Roger, for playing around with STM32 a ST-Link v2 (clone) is a nearly a "must have" especially if you are in troubles.
Here is the aliexpress link page for them: http://tinyurl.com/hok2v34
BTW: the schematic is'nt readable, much too small.

User avatar
mrburnette
Posts: 1794
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 12:50 pm
Location: Greater Atlanta
Contact:

Re: ECA Board Issues

Post by mrburnette » Wed Dec 02, 2015 1:04 pm

madias wrote: BTW: the schematic is'nt readable, much too small.

Image

User avatar
zoomx
Posts: 457
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 2:28 pm
Location: Mt.Etna, Italy

Re: ECA Board Issues

Post by zoomx » Wed Dec 02, 2015 1:43 pm

I think that madias means the schematic in the previous page.

User avatar
martinayotte
Posts: 1194
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 1:45 pm

Re: ECA Board Issues

Post by martinayotte » Wed Dec 02, 2015 2:06 pm

From the "connectivity" picture, we can see that this board is poorly designed since there are at least four R7 on the silkscreen along with three C1. :(

User avatar
BrotherV
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2015 12:44 pm
Location: Iran, Esfahan
Contact:

Re: ECA Board Issues

Post by BrotherV » Wed Dec 02, 2015 2:30 pm

Thanks Roger,Thanks madias, Thanks mrburnette
Finally I did it, Roger was right.
I changed Boot0 switch in another position and pressed reset button, Finally worked.(I had done it before on another port but it did not work :shock: :shock: )

Upload generic_boot20_pc13.bin via Flash Loader Demonstrator:
Image

Image

Upload Blink Sketch:
Image

Image

User avatar
BrotherV
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2015 12:44 pm
Location: Iran, Esfahan
Contact:

Re: ECA Board Issues

Post by BrotherV » Wed Dec 02, 2015 2:35 pm

martinayotte wrote:From the "connectivity" picture, we can see that this board is poorly designed since there are at least four R7 on the silkscreen along with three C1. :(
you're right :D :D
Is poorly designed

madias
Posts: 813
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 11:26 am
Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: ECA Board Issues

Post by madias » Wed Dec 02, 2015 4:33 pm

Anyway:
Congratulations, BrotherV and happy coding now! :)
About the schematic: I just wanna be sure, that there are two 22R resistors on USB because this would have taken to the next troubles this was my complain about the unreadable schematic (I feel a little bit offended, if it is assumend that I cannot get a stinky ST-Link v2 schematic ;) )

User avatar
martinayotte
Posts: 1194
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 1:45 pm

Re: ECA Board Issues

Post by martinayotte » Wed Dec 02, 2015 5:25 pm

madias wrote:Congratulations, BrotherV and happy coding now! :)
+1 !
Enjoy your new toy ! ;)

User avatar
RogerClark
Posts: 6375
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 10:36 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: ECA Board Issues

Post by RogerClark » Wed Dec 02, 2015 8:44 pm

[quote="BrotherV"]
Image


Hi @BrotherV

I am not sure if you are now using the bootloader of if you are still loading via usb to serial

I you upload the bootloader, you should then be able to connect the PC directly to the USB on the STM32,

However it looks like the board has reset hardware like the Maple mini, so the bootloader you need to use is probably the maple mini version

But i cant read the circuit as it is too blurred

can you tell us which GPIO pin is connected to the 2 transistors which are in the top left of the diagram?

Perhaps its PB1??

But the Maple Mini uses PB9.

I think someone added another Maple mini variant bootloader with using a different pin ( to do the USB reset), but I cant remember which pin that was.

So I may need to add a new bootloader variant to support this board if it uses PB1

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest