Value Line Discovery Board

Any other STM32 based boards
Phisatho
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2016 1:24 pm

Value Line Discovery Board

Post by Phisatho » Fri Oct 28, 2016 2:22 pm

Where can I get the support files for STM32VLDISCOVERY board?
http://www.st.com/en/evaluation-tools/s ... overy.html
This board has a STM32F100 chip running at 24MHz with a built-in ST-Link (The ST-Link itself is a STM32F103).

I could not find any pointers from the net.

User avatar
RogerClark
Posts: 7157
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 10:36 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Value Line Discovery Board

Post by RogerClark » Fri Oct 28, 2016 7:58 pm

What do you mean by "Support files"

Do you mean use the Arduino IDE with this board, if so then we do not have any existing code that would work with this board.

It uses a processor which is similar to the F103 but I suspect it has less timers etc, and it also runs at a much lower clock speed.

You would either need to make your own "variant" files using the libmaple repo, or use the STM32CubeMx to generate your own "variant" for the official STM Aruino core

Phisatho
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2016 1:24 pm

Re: Value Line Discovery Board

Post by Phisatho » Sat Oct 29, 2016 5:47 am

Both routes are beyond my capabilities.
Looks like I will have to put the back in its place in the box.
In any case, the board's form factor makes it unsuitable for any project. My plan was to use it for testing code.

I was a bit elated when I saw this document:
http://air.imag.fr/mediawiki/images/7/7 ... GU-GUO.pdf
which shows a discovery board listed in Arduino. Now I realise that it is F0 Discovery.

User avatar
Pito
Posts: 1593
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2016 3:26 pm
Location: Rapa Nui

Re: Value Line Discovery Board

Post by Pito » Sat Oct 29, 2016 8:16 am

FYI- my VL disco boards ran overclocked at 48MHz stable (one even 56MHz). At that speed they over-perform the F103 at 72MHz (as the VL have 0 flash waitstates, F103 has got 3 ws) :)
Pukao Hats Cleaning Services Ltd.

stevestrong
Posts: 1747
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 12:06 am
Location: Munich, Germany

Re: Value Line Discovery Board

Post by stevestrong » Sat Oct 29, 2016 9:56 am

Pito wrote: the VL have 0 flash waitstates, F103 has got 3 ws :)
Where did you get this information from?

User avatar
RogerClark
Posts: 7157
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 10:36 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Value Line Discovery Board

Post by RogerClark » Sat Oct 29, 2016 10:02 am

Phisatho wrote:Both routes are beyond my capabilities.
Looks like I will have to put the back in its place in the box.
In any case, the board's form factor makes it unsuitable for any project. My plan was to use it for testing code.

I was a bit elated when I saw this document:
http://air.imag.fr/mediawiki/images/7/7 ... GU-GUO.pdf
which shows a discovery board listed in Arduino. Now I realise that it is F0 Discovery.
see

https://github.com/anton19286/libmaple/ ... ish/boards

zmemw16
Posts: 1449
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 2:09 pm
Location: St Annes, Lancs,UK

Re: Value Line Discovery Board

Post by zmemw16 » Sat Oct 29, 2016 11:48 am

the vldiscovery f100 is breadboard friendly'ish, you may well need long side-long side joined breadboards and to span double supply rails, also spi(pa4-pa7) has to dangle off the end(its pins are orientated across the board :x ).
bar that, seems fine
stephen

User avatar
RogerClark
Posts: 7157
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 10:36 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Value Line Discovery Board

Post by RogerClark » Sat Oct 29, 2016 9:12 pm

I dont think it would be that hard to create a new variant what may work

MCUs in the F1 series are fairly similar and I managed to run code on a STLink dongle which is a STM32F101

BTW.
I read that PDF and all I could find was a link to a hacked version of the old leaflabs repo.
It had a discovery board files added, but there may have been other changes throughout the repo

Making a new variant, based on an existing board, is really not that hard.

@Phisatho if you are still interested in trying to use your Valueline board, It wouldnt take me long to duplicate the a folder and add a boards.txt entry, but someone else will probably need to help you with the PLL config stuff, as I just don't have time at the moment

Phisatho
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2016 1:24 pm

Re: Value Line Discovery Board

Post by Phisatho » Sun Oct 30, 2016 5:32 am

Hi Roger,
I am giving a try.
What I am trying is -
1) Replicate one of the folders under 'Variant' folder and name it something like 'VLDiscovery'.
2) Edit 'board.h' in the newly created folder to match the board - including the PLL multiplier.
3) Edit 'Boards.txt' and add an entry for the new board.
(I am at workplace at the moment and not near the PC where Arduino is installed. Some of the file / folder names could be wrong)

What else will I need to do?

Shibu Thomas

User avatar
RogerClark
Posts: 7157
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 10:36 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: Value Line Discovery Board

Post by RogerClark » Sun Oct 30, 2016 7:47 am

Phisatho wrote:Hi Roger,
I am giving a try.
What I am trying is -
1) Replicate one of the folders under 'Variant' folder and name it something like 'VLDiscovery'.
2) Edit 'board.h' in the newly created folder to match the board - including the PLL multiplier.
3) Edit 'Boards.txt' and add an entry for the new board.
(I am at workplace at the moment and not near the PC where Arduino is installed. Some of the file / folder names could be wrong)

What else will I need to do?

Shibu Thomas
Yes. Basically thats about it.

Duplicate one of the generic_stm32f103 boards, (not the Maple or other manufacturer specific boards)

You may need to add or remove pins from both board.h and also board.cpp
board.cpp also sets up what "Serial" means. i.e I suspect on your board perhaps Serial should mean hardware USART1. but you'd need to connect it to a USB to Serial adaptor, as it doesnt look like that board has the STLink version with USB Serial as well as SWD programming (it only had SWD programming)

You'll need to change the

Code: Select all

#define CYCLES_PER_MICROSECOND    72
If your board is not running at 72Mhz otherwise delay() etc and a bunch of other stuff (including the Serial) will not run at the right speed


in boards.txt, just copy and paste a section e.g. the generic stms32f103 section and rename it.
The main thing you need to change is the variant e.g.

Code: Select all

genericSTM32F103C.build.variant=generic_stm32f103c
becomes

Code: Select all

STM32VLDISCOVERY.build.variant=STM32VLDISCOVERY  
also change

Code: Select all

genericSTM32F103C.build.board=GENERIC_STM32F103C
You can rip out menu items that are not applicable, and in the end remove them entirely.

You only need the STLInk upload menu item, But by default it will enable USB Serial, so you'll need to remove

Code: Select all

-DSERIAL_USB -DGENERIC_BOOTLOADER
Otherwise it will try to run USB on PA11 and PA12 and use it for "Serial"

Anyway. give it a try and see if you want at least get blink to work

Post Reply