How to build the bootloader?

Bootloader for boards that don't have the addition hardware found on the Maple mini, which resets the USB
navintiwari08

How to build the bootloader?

Postby navintiwari08 » Sat Aug 22, 2015 4:34 pm

Hi!! this is Navin. I've worked with 8 bit micro controllers including PIC, 8051 and AVRs(with Arduino). I really wanted to start something with arm cortex m3. So I got a generic stm32f103x board and was looking for a way to use it with Arduino. In the description it says that stm32duino bootloader makes use of pin PC14(used for DFU if this pin goes high at boot time). The board that I have uses stm32f103c8t6 mcu and pin PC14 is the OSC i/p for 32768Hz resonator. Now, I know this can be changed in the bootloader so that the "button" can be made to use some other pin. I'm new to understanding bootloaders and their structure and if its not too much, could anybody please tell me how do I rebuild(compile) this bootloader with small changes in pin definitions and where to get the required files and tools. Basically, I want to know the steps to build the bootloader myself from its C and header files and where to get them. Thanks for your time!

keep it burning
-Navin

zmemw16

Re: How to build the bootloader?

Postby zmemw16 » Sat Aug 22, 2015 6:06 pm

need to pull and install Arduino_STM32 first? nope it builds standalone, good idea though
https://github.com/rogerclarkmelbourne/Arduino_STM32

expand the zip under ~/sketchbook_stm32/hardware
i have separate sketchbook directories for avr and stm32; ./.arduino15 is another matter....

https://github.com/rogerclarkmelbourne/STM32duino-bootloader

pull the zip & expand at the ~/sketchbook_stm32/hardware/Arduino_STM32/STM32duino-bootloader/ level
should give you a README.md file and a STM32F1 directory

cd ~/sketchbook/hardware/Arduino_STM32/STM32duino-bootloader/STM32F1
add a section into config.h as/if required, following the template in config.h