ST-link clone by baite

rreignier
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2016 8:52 pm
Location: Toulon, France

Re: ST-link clone by baite

Post by rreignier » Tue Feb 14, 2017 2:32 pm

Can you confirm that your Baite ST-Link clones are using a stm32f103c8t6 chip?

I have received mine but it uses an stm32f101c8t6 so I am a bit disappointed.
I had planned to flash it with BMP firmware. I have already a Blue Pill converted but a USB dongle is more convenient.
I have opened a dispute about that on Aliexpress but Baite answered that it is not written in the description what chip is used (that's true) and the functionality id the same. :(
Maybe I will try to flash the BMP firmware anyway, with a proper set target.

racemaniac
Posts: 554
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2015 9:09 am

Re: ST-link clone by baite

Post by racemaniac » Tue Feb 14, 2017 3:44 pm

nice catch, i've got 2 baite st links, my older one is a 103, my newer one (it just arrived 2 weeks ago) is also a 101 (and it's one coming from the official baite store)


User avatar
RogerClark
Posts: 7153
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 10:36 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: ST-link clone by baite

Post by RogerClark » Tue Feb 14, 2017 8:16 pm

Umm.

Looks like Baite are cutting their costs. I have several Baite STlinks, some of which I converted to Blackmagic probes, and they were all F103's

zmemw16
Posts: 1449
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 2:09 pm
Location: St Annes, Lancs,UK

Re: ST-link clone by baite

Post by zmemw16 » Tue Feb 14, 2017 10:44 pm

2 off 103c8 jtags and one atmega16 jtag ice, no idea when i got that
might be missing a couple of 103c8 jtags
the jtag ice is in exactly the same plastic casing
srp

rreignier
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2016 8:52 pm
Location: Toulon, France

Re: ST-link clone by baite

Post by rreignier » Tue Feb 14, 2017 11:02 pm

Ok, thanks for your answers!
So I might try to flash the stlink version of the BMP firmware. I just have to look at the pinmap. I hope that the previous messages in this thread apply to the 101 model.

rreignier
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2016 8:52 pm
Location: Toulon, France

Re: ST-link clone by baite

Post by rreignier » Wed Feb 15, 2017 12:58 am

Ok, so I have tried the modifications of denis fom here:
viewtopic.php?f=35&t=1357&start=10#p18332
And it works nicely! :)
Thanks!
It is now time for me to Donate to the great BMP project ;)

User avatar
RogerClark
Posts: 7153
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 10:36 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: ST-link clone by baite

Post by RogerClark » Wed Feb 15, 2017 1:57 am

rreignier wrote:Ok, so I have tried the modifications of denis fom here:
viewtopic.php?f=35&t=1357&start=10#p18332
And it works nicely! :)
Thanks!
It is now time for me to Donate to the great BMP project ;)

There is an open thread / issue on the BMP repo, to add a STLink dongle.

So hopefully sooner or later it will be a bit easier for people to make a BMP from a STLink

BTW.
I looked at @denis's changes, but they could not be applied as a PR to the BMP repo, because I think the changes extend outside the STLink platform folder
So things would need to be done slightly differently in order that they didnt break the other BMP platforms


PS.
Shame that Baite have decided to use the F101 instead of the F103, in some ways it would be better if they used the F103CB (128k), because the 128k STLink's have UART as well as SWD, and they are also upgradable to be a JLink, using a publicaly available upgraded produced by Segger

rreignier
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2016 8:52 pm
Location: Toulon, France

Re: ST-link clone by baite

Post by rreignier » Wed Feb 15, 2017 1:03 pm

RogerClark wrote: Shame that Baite have decided to use the F101 instead of the F103, in some ways it would be better if they used the F103CB (128k), because the 128k STLink's have UART as well as SWD, and they are also upgradable to be a JLink, using a publicaly available upgraded produced by Segger
Oh, you think that the F103 variant comes as ST-Link + UART and the F101 does not?
Actually, I did not try it before flashing the BMP firmware.

User avatar
RogerClark
Posts: 7153
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 10:36 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: ST-link clone by baite

Post by RogerClark » Wed Feb 15, 2017 10:10 pm

rreignier wrote:
RogerClark wrote: Shame that Baite have decided to use the F101 instead of the F103, in some ways it would be better if they used the F103CB (128k), because the 128k STLink's have UART as well as SWD, and they are also upgradable to be a JLink, using a publicaly available upgraded produced by Segger
Oh, you think that the F103 variant comes as ST-Link + UART and the F101 does not?
Actually, I did not try it before flashing the BMP firmware.
No.

F103 version does not have the UART either.

They only used F103C8 (64k) in their F103 version and only the F103CB version (128k) supports the UART in the STLink software as I think the UART version of the STLInk is just a little to big to fit in 64k. This is because the STLink has its own bootloader system, but the bootloader is quite large (possibly 20k I can't remember the precise details)

In theory it should be possible to install the STLink + UART onto a Maple mini as it has a F103CB but I don't think anyone has tried this.
(and in theory the STLink bin file is supposed to be confidential and not available for download, but in reality its available on multiple site (mostly Russian ones))

Post Reply