Read duty cycle of pwm signal

What are you developing?
kid_bengala

Read duty cycle of pwm signal

Post by kid_bengala »

Hello,

I want to read a PWM signal and know its duty cycle, for this I read a digital input and by pulseIn, I get a value that I divide by 10. It has been working, but I have noticed that if I raise the frequency or lower it, the value returned by PulseIn is altered, sometimes unrelated. For example, I have a signal with a frequency and the pulseIn value returns a low value, I increase the frequency and the pulseIn value goes up, I increase the signal even more and the value goes down (I can attach some oscilloscope screenshots to explain better).

I had thought about using some timer or similar to read this value, but I'm new to stm and don't understand the examples very well :oops: .

Any advice on how to get the duty cycle of a signal or zero value in the absence of this without using pulseIn? Thanks.

Regards
GonzoG
Answers: 26

Re: Read duty cycle of pwm signal

Post by GonzoG »

In STM examples you have example that reads frequency and duty cycle.
kid_bengala

Post by kid_bengala »

GonzoG wrote: Mon Jan 16, 2023 12:08 am In STM examples you have example that reads frequency and duty cycle.
I have tried that example, changing the pin to the pin I use on my board (it was a gift) and it does not work.

Code: Select all

[19:22:28:154] Frequency = 0    Dutycycle = 0
[19:22:29:161] Frequency = 0    Dutycycle = 0
[19:22:30:152] Frequency = 0    Dutycycle = 0
[19:22:31:169] Frequency = 0    Dutycycle = 0
[19:22:32:150] Frequency = 0    Dutycycle = 0
I can read the duty cycle with other Arduino codes but it is not a stable value and changes constantly, and if I change the frequency, it takes seconds to detect the new duty cycle.
doubleaswi wrote: Mon Jan 16, 2023 10:32 am There are a few different ways you could approach measuring the duty cycle of a PWM signal without using the pulseIn() function, which can be affected by changes in frequency.