[SOLVED] Uploading via STLink-v2 problem

peeknot
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2017 3:08 pm

[SOLVED] Uploading via STLink-v2 problem

Post by peeknot » Thu Jan 04, 2018 1:46 pm

Before I know that I can use stlink as a uploader and can open the port by connecting usb cable to usb port. I uploaded bootloader to the bluepill , so my question is

1.) Is it okay to upload via STLink with the board having the bootloader?
2.) If 1 is yes , does the bootloader disappear after uploading via STLink?
3.) After resetting everything in drivers, still the stlink cant communicate with the board. Any method on how to fix this?

zmemw16
Posts: 1687
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 2:09 pm
Location: St Annes, Lancs,UK

Re: Uploading via STLink-v2 problem

Post by zmemw16 » Thu Jan 04, 2018 1:51 pm

yes,yes, need more info
i.e. which os, which distro if applicable, which core, which arduino version and anything else you might be useful
srp

peeknot
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2017 3:08 pm

Re: Uploading via STLink-v2 problem

Post by peeknot » Thu Jan 04, 2018 1:57 pm

Im using windows 8 , arduino version 1.6.10 , stm32f103c8t6 sorry for not giving the info

zmemw16
Posts: 1687
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 2:09 pm
Location: St Annes, Lancs,UK

Re: Uploading via STLink-v2 problem

Post by zmemw16 » Thu Jan 04, 2018 2:03 pm

as it's winxx it's almost certain it's a driver issue
i'm on linux so not that helpful.
which core ? arduino_stm32(roger), ST(ftpSTM??) official, one of the STM32GENERIC's ?
srp

peeknot
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2017 3:08 pm

Re: Uploading via STLink-v2 problem

Post by peeknot » Thu Jan 04, 2018 2:18 pm

Im not quite sure about the core , but Im using the arduino_st(roger) , the first time I use the stlink is successful but after uploading bootloader on it and back to stlink for uploading method the stlink dont communicate with the board sorry for the inconvenience

zmemw16
Posts: 1687
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 2:09 pm
Location: St Annes, Lancs,UK

Re: Uploading via STLink-v2 problem

Post by zmemw16 » Thu Jan 04, 2018 2:45 pm

the first time I use the stlink is successful but after uploading bootloader on it and back to stlink for uploading method
why are you trying to st-link upload after installing the bootloader ?
select the bootloader as the upload method and try again .
stephen

peeknot
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2017 3:08 pm

Re: Uploading via STLink-v2 problem

Post by peeknot » Thu Jan 04, 2018 2:55 pm

why are you trying to st-link upload after installing the bootloader ?
select the bootloader as the upload method and try again .
stephen
thanks for the guide sir stephen , gonna move this thread to uploading i was on the wrong one :lol:

zmemw16
Posts: 1687
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 2:09 pm
Location: St Annes, Lancs,UK

Re: Uploading via STLink-v2 problem

Post by zmemw16 » Thu Jan 04, 2018 3:01 pm

wow i totally missed the sword touch on each shoulder :lol:

stevestrong
Posts: 2073
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 12:06 am
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Re: Uploading via STLink-v2 problem

Post by stevestrong » Thu Jan 04, 2018 3:22 pm

peeknot wrote:
Thu Jan 04, 2018 2:18 pm
Im not quite sure about the core , but Im using the arduino_st(roger) , the first time I use the stlink is successful but after uploading bootloader on it and back to stlink for uploading method the stlink dont communicate with the board sorry for the inconvenience
You need the bootloader only if you want to upload over USB DFU.
In this case the STLink interface is disabled, that is why you cannot access the chip with the STLink.
STLink DOES NOT WORK AS SERIAL PORT!!!
You have to connect a USB cable to the USB socket of the board to have USB serial interface.

peeknot
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2017 3:08 pm

Re: Uploading via STLink-v2 problem

Post by peeknot » Thu Jan 04, 2018 3:35 pm

stevestrong wrote:
Thu Jan 04, 2018 3:22 pm
You need the bootloader only if you want to upload over USB DFU.
In this case the STLink interface is disabled, that is why you cannot access the chip with the STLink.
How can I enable the STLink interface?
stevestrong wrote:
Thu Jan 04, 2018 3:22 pm
STLink DOES NOT WORK AS SERIAL PORT!!!
You have to connect a USB cable to the USB socket of the board to have USB serial interface.
Yes I know that sir , sorry for the inconvenience. The problem was on the STLink interface that I think it was disable

Post Reply