Any support or what do i need to get this working?

Limited support for STM32F4 Discovery, Nucleo and custom F4 boards
stevestrong
Posts: 2067
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 12:06 am
Location: Munich, Germany
Contact:

Re: Any support or what do i need to get this working?

Post by stevestrong » Mon Jan 22, 2018 12:18 pm

Nutsy wrote:
Sun Jan 21, 2018 3:06 pm
What about debugging? Can the stlink be used? i assume its not by the normal serial print?
OK, I understood that as "normal" debugging, and not debugging with serial print via STLink.
Yes, STLink can be used for debugging, but not sending serial printouts over STLink.

Nutsy
Posts: 260
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2016 4:26 pm

Re: Any support or what do i need to get this working?

Post by Nutsy » Tue Jan 23, 2018 1:37 pm

I also ordered a VET a few weeks ago as well and thats turned up... Heres a couple of pictures of it and comparing the two...
Image
Image

dannyf
Posts: 230
Joined: Wed May 11, 2016 4:29 pm

Re: Any support or what do i need to get this working?

Post by dannyf » Mon Jan 29, 2018 12:04 pm

STLink can be used for debugging, but not sending serial printouts over STLink.
It sure can. With some stlink v1 and all v2 and later, you can use the virtual serial port over stlink to transmit data out to a host. I can post a link later.

This opens up a lot of opportunities, like visualization, ...

Wolfie
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2018 8:57 am

Re: Any support or what do i need to get this working?

Post by Wolfie » Mon Jan 29, 2018 1:35 pm

Nutsy, I bought a VGT6 at the same time as my VET6, but mine is quite diferent:

Image

Your VG is massive!

The eBay listing for my VG said it had on-board ST-Link but, of course, it hasn't.

So I just connected ST-Link SWDIO / SWCLK to PA13 / PA14 and PA9 / PA10 to a separate FTDI and, to my surprise, it all worked (using Arduino IDE and generic F407 setting). A bit of a mess about, but a simple solution.

Nutsy
Posts: 260
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2016 4:26 pm

Re: Any support or what do i need to get this working?

Post by Nutsy » Mon Jan 29, 2018 9:19 pm

Wolfie wrote:
Mon Jan 29, 2018 1:35 pm

Your VG is massive!
*blushes* why thank you...

oh and the massive board is a zgt, not a vgt or vet

yeah theres a few different versions going around. But good to know stlink works as it should... I might start playing with the board soon...

zmemw16
Posts: 1685
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 2:09 pm
Location: St Annes, Lancs,UK

Re: Any support or what do i need to get this working?

Post by zmemw16 » Mon Jan 29, 2018 10:16 pm

strictly speaking it has st-link connections, but perhaps as not you expected e.g. as in a nucleo
stephen

Wolfie
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2018 8:57 am

Re: Any support or what do i need to get this working?

Post by Wolfie » Tue Jan 30, 2018 7:16 am

oh and the massive board is a zgt, not a vgt or vet
Ah yes, my mistake, but I'm not happy that your board is bigger than mine, I want a black zg too!

Wolfie
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2018 8:57 am

Re: Any support or what do i need to get this working?

Post by Wolfie » Tue Jan 30, 2018 7:18 am

strictly speaking it has st-link connections, but perhaps as not you expected e.g. as in a nucleo
I think you're right on both points. I hadn't thought of it like that.

Post Reply