Adding STM32F373VCT to STM32 variants for ArduinoIDE

Post here all questions related to STM32 core if you can't find a relevant section!
ddano007
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2020 9:08 am

Adding STM32F373VCT to STM32 variants for ArduinoIDE

Post by ddano007 »

Hi, I tried to add above mentioned processor to STM32 variants in Arduino IDE 2.0.3 according this manual
https://github.com/stm32duino/wiki/wiki ... 28board%29
but I can see no additional board part number in Generic STM32F3 series :?
I created all files, modified boards.txt and Readme.md. Isn`t it necessary is some way to "upgrade" the list of boards in Arduino IDE?
User avatar
fpiSTM
Posts: 1738
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2019 7:11 pm
Answers: 91
Location: Le Mans
Contact:

Re: Adding STM32F373VCT to STM32 variants for ArduinoIDE

Post by fpiSTM »

You have to reload the ide to see it. If not present then probably an error in your modification.
ddano007
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2020 9:08 am

Re: Adding STM32F373VCT to STM32 variants for ArduinoIDE

Post by ddano007 »

I of course reloaded IDE. And of course I could made an error.
However: when I made "fake STM32F373" from existing 303V(B-C)T processor IDE also didn`t change the list of useable boards.
It looks like after modifying all files it`s necessary in some way to "refresh" board list for Arduino IDE. Just restart Arduino IDE is not sufficient :?
User avatar
fpiSTM
Posts: 1738
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2019 7:11 pm
Answers: 91
Location: Le Mans
Contact:

Re: Adding STM32F373VCT to STM32 variants for ArduinoIDE

Post by fpiSTM »

well, hard to help without see what you have done.
ddano007
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2020 9:08 am

Re: Adding STM32F373VCT to STM32 variants for ArduinoIDE

Post by ddano007 »

I`m trying to run STM32F373VCT processor from this repo:
https://github.com/stm32duino/Arduino_Core_STM32
There is already in Generic F3 series directory for STM32F373VCT, but in IDE I can see only few of F3 processors ( ... 358, 378 ), but not 373.
In attachment are my "fake STM32F373VCT" files modified from STM32F303V(B-C)T processor ( I can see it in IDE and compilation is working ).
1, I just copied and renamed all files from
C:\Users\xxx\AppData\Local\Arduino15\packages\STMicroelectronics\hardware\stm32\2.4.0\variants\STM32F3xx\F302V(B-C)T
directory, to new
C:\Users\xxx\AppData\Local\Arduino15\packages\STMicroelectronics\hardware\stm32\2.4.0\variants\STM32F3xx\F373V(B-C)T
directory an renamed 303 to 373
2, I modified boards.txt in
C:\Users\xxx\AppData\Local\Arduino15\packages\STMicroelectronics\hardware\stm32\2.4.0
adding info from boards_entry.txt in F373V(B-C)T directory
3, modified README.md in
C:\Users\xxx\AppData\Local\Arduino15\packages\STMicroelectronics\hardware\stm32\2.4.0
adding one line for new processor.
Close and open again Arduino IDE 2.0.3.
Nothing changed :cry:
Attachments
achiv_20230222_01.zip
(71.16 KiB) Downloaded 59 times
User avatar
fpiSTM
Posts: 1738
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2019 7:11 pm
Answers: 91
Location: Le Mans
Contact:

Re: Adding STM32F373VCT to STM32 variants for ArduinoIDE

Post by fpiSTM »

Well, I do not advice to modify the folder as they are generated automatically. Simply add the linker script and a default generic clock config in the folder STM32F3xx/F373V(8-B-C)(H-T)

I've simply added the board entry of the STM32V373V in the boards.txt and it appears properly:
STM32F373V.png
STM32F373V.png (47.29 KiB) Viewed 1183 times
ddano007
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2020 9:08 am

Re: Adding STM32F373VCT to STM32 variants for ArduinoIDE

Post by ddano007 »

fpiSTM wrote: Wed Feb 22, 2023 3:14 pm...I've simply added the board entry of the STM32V373V in the boards.txt and it appears properly...
Thanks.
I deinstalled that repo and reinstall it. After adding lines to boards.txt I can see it in menu ( miracles hapens :shock: ).
Question:
In manual I`ve mentioned above is declared, that as clock source for generic boards is HSI. I want to use USB, and can`t find any configuration for it with HSI.
Can I use external 8MHz crystal in CubeMX clock configuratior or not?
User avatar
fpiSTM
Posts: 1738
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2019 7:11 pm
Answers: 91
Location: Le Mans
Contact:

Re: Adding STM32F373VCT to STM32 variants for ArduinoIDE

Post by fpiSTM »

If your board have HSE you can use it else no.
ddano007
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2020 9:08 am

Re: Adding STM32F373VCT to STM32 variants for ArduinoIDE

Post by ddano007 »

Thanks. Sorry for maybe stupid questions, but I`m not familiar with such things :(
So the step-by-step it will be:
1, run CubeMX
2, configure pinout for external 8MHz HSE and 32kHz LSE ( would be fine to have also LSE with external crystal for better stability )
3, add USB
4, solve clock cofiguration to have 72MHz core clock and 48MHz for USB
5, generate code
6, make ldscript.ld and generic_clock.c from generated code.
Or am I to generate ldscript.ld with default cofiguration BEFORE adding HSE, LSE and USB?
ddano007
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2020 9:08 am

Re: Adding STM32F373VCT to STM32 variants for ArduinoIDE

Post by ddano007 »

It`s working, great thanks for help.
If You have account on buymeacoffee give me the link, I will buy You a coffee :!:
Post Reply

Return to “General discussion”