Platformio

Development environment specific, Arduino, Eclipse, VS2013,Em::Blocks etc
michael_l
Posts: 336
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2015 6:11 pm

Re: Platformio

Post by michael_l » Fri May 19, 2017 10:27 am

Also they have something called PIO Remote. You can register your devices and give users permission to to access it - remotely that is. By accessing I mean you can flash the remote device and view serial output. Haven't tried it though. Maybe something else in the future..

aster
Posts: 93
Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2017 2:41 pm
Location: bella italy
Contact:

Re: Platformio

Post by aster » Fri May 19, 2017 12:51 pm

Ag123 you quite convinced me to eclipse :D
stevestrong wrote:You can export the Platformio project to Eclipse very easily.

This is what I usually do:
- import Arduino project with Platformio
and then
- export the project to Eclipse
All you should finally do is to import the project folder to Eclipse, and you are good to go.

And you can also debug with Eclipse ;)
Is any reason why you don t start directly with eclipse?

The pio remote looks cool but i wouldn t need it

stevestrong
Posts: 1501
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 12:06 am
Location: Munich, Germany

Re: Platformio

Post by stevestrong » Fri May 19, 2017 1:00 pm

aster wrote:Is any reason why you don t start directly with eclipse?
Yes. In this way I don't have to mess with Eclipse project settings (include paths, defines etc.), it will be automatically done by Platformio.

ag123
Posts: 709
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2016 4:24 pm

Re: Platformio

Post by ag123 » Fri May 19, 2017 5:30 pm

stevestrong wrote:
aster wrote:Is any reason why you don t start directly with eclipse?
Yes. In this way I don't have to mess with Eclipse project settings (include paths, defines etc.), it will be automatically done by Platformio.
that's a very strong point as it seemed platformio intend to support arduino 'natively', the more recent release of eclipse has direct arduino support neither have i tried that out though
https://marketplace.eclipse.org/content ... de-arduino

fotisl
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri May 19, 2017 8:35 am

Re: Platformio

Post by fotisl » Mon May 22, 2017 2:31 pm

aster wrote:is here someone who is using the platformio ide without eclipse? is it simple as the arduino ide?
I have been using it from the command line since I mostly use vim for editing code. I just had to make some changes in the board definition to support 128k and make it use the correct link script, but I'm good. I use dfu to upload my code and it's pretty easy..

Fotis

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest