IDE with Eclipse with Jantje's plugin

Development environment specific, Arduino, Eclipse, VS2013,Em::Blocks etc
stevestrong
Posts: 1437
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 12:06 am
Location: Munich, Germany

Re: IDE with Eclipse with Jantje's plugin

Post by stevestrong » Thu Oct 06, 2016 10:04 pm

Well, debugging seem to work nicely.
Of course, USB serial stops working during debugging, but i think one have to live with it.
I think i say farewell to Arduino IDE...

Next step is to write a wiki topic regarding this setup, unless someone else wants to write more professionally...

User avatar
RogerClark
Posts: 6361
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 10:36 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: IDE with Eclipse with Jantje's plugin

Post by RogerClark » Fri Oct 07, 2016 1:35 am

The Arduino IDE has been the weak link for quite some time, because the don't seem to have any interest in debugging.

Re: USB Serial

You are probably better off using an external USB to serial adaptor.

If you use a Blackmagic probe this performs as both the SWD and the USB to Serial.

You just need to connect to USART1 PA9,PA10
Last edited by RogerClark on Sun Apr 02, 2017 7:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

stevestrong
Posts: 1437
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 12:06 am
Location: Munich, Germany

Re: IDE with Eclipse with Jantje's plugin

Post by stevestrong » Fri Oct 07, 2016 7:30 am

RogerClark wrote:If you use a Blackmagic probe this performs as both the SWD and the USB to Serial.
You just need to connect to USART1 PA9,PA10
Roger, you mean that BMP support SWD but one still need an additional USB->Serial adaptor?
Or that BMP supports SWO (serial over the probe)?

User avatar
RogerClark
Posts: 6361
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 10:36 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: IDE with Eclipse with Jantje's plugin

Post by RogerClark » Fri Oct 07, 2016 7:40 am

BMP provides both SWD and USB Serial

stevestrong
Posts: 1437
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 12:06 am
Location: Munich, Germany

Re: IDE with Eclipse with Jantje's plugin

Post by stevestrong » Fri Oct 07, 2016 8:31 am

I am open to switch to BMP, but when I read this thread, no solution is given how to set up Eclipse (or other IDE) to use BMP as uploader and debugger.
Or I just didn't search at the right place?

EDIT
OK, I found this thread, I have to go through 22 pages...

User avatar
RogerClark
Posts: 6361
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 10:36 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: IDE with Eclipse with Jantje's plugin

Post by RogerClark » Fri Oct 07, 2016 8:59 am

Steve,

I think Rick uses the BMP but I"m not sure if he uses it with Eclipse. I guess its best to ask him

edogaldo
Posts: 252
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2016 8:19 am

Re: IDE with Eclipse with Jantje's plugin

Post by edogaldo » Fri Oct 07, 2016 12:44 pm

Did anybody install version v3 of the Jantje's plugin?
I tried today and found following issues:
- standard Arduino core: the gcc compiler toolchain have not been automatically installed
- don't know how to install the stm32duino core

I also tried version v2 but that requires an Arduino installation <=1.6.5, mine is 1.6.11

(I'm using Neon.1 (v4.6.1))


Thanks and bye, E.

stevestrong
Posts: 1437
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 12:06 am
Location: Munich, Germany

Re: IDE with Eclipse with Jantje's plugin

Post by stevestrong » Fri Oct 07, 2016 12:49 pm

I don't recommend V3, it downloads the whole AVR core and lib files, which we don't need.
Also, the link I attached (Eclipse marketplace plugin) points to V2, which I consider safe.
I am not sure whether it is very strict regarding the Arduino version, I have both 1.6.9 and 1.6.5 installed (extracted portable directories), and I pointed to 1.6.5 for the Eclipse plugin, but I am normally using the 1.6.9 with Arduino IDE.

edogaldo
Posts: 252
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2016 8:19 am

Re: IDE with Eclipse with Jantje's plugin

Post by edogaldo » Fri Oct 07, 2016 4:41 pm

stevestrong wrote:I don't recommend V3, it downloads the whole AVR core and lib files, which we don't need.
[...]
I have both 1.6.9 and 1.6.5 installed (extracted portable directories), and I pointed to 1.6.5 for the Eclipse plugin, but I am normally using the 1.6.9 with Arduino IDE.
You have double installation the same..
I'm now playing with the v3 version: I managed to solve the first of my two problems (automatically installing the Arduino Uno gcc toolchain) by switching the platform version (from 1.6.14 to 1.6.11 and then back to 1.6.14).
Now I'm trying to find a way to install the stm32duino core: at the moment I'm in a situation where the core is found but some variables (i.e. the compiler path) are not set (of course I installed the Due core in order to have the none.eabi toolchain and I can successfully compile an empty sketch with both the Uno and Due cores).
Best, E.

[edit] it looks like I succeeded also in installing the stm32duino core: there is a bug related to the environment variables in current stable release which is fixed in the nightly builds which can be installed from here: http://eclipse.baeyens.it/nightly
In order to make the core work you have to:
- install the nightly build of version v3
- install the Due core
- copy the stm32duino core in the folder specified in "Private Hardware Path"
(note: at the moment I could just compile successfully, could not yet test upload but at least compilation is ok..)

stevestrong
Posts: 1437
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 12:06 am
Location: Munich, Germany

Re: IDE with Eclipse with Jantje's plugin

Post by stevestrong » Fri Oct 07, 2016 6:18 pm

edogaldo wrote:- copy the stm32duino core in the folder specified in "Private Hardware Path"
Hm, you didn't have stm32duino files installed before?

In my case, I first setup Arduino IDE, then follow the steps in stm32duino wiki to install everything needed to build stm32duino projects within the Arduino IDE.
Afterwards, install Eclipse and Arduino plugin (V2), add missing variables and paths as indicated in the previous comments.
In this case you don't have to copy the files anymore.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest