Firmware update through Ethernet

Post here all questions related to STM32 core if you can't find a relevant section!
GaelZorro

Firmware update through Ethernet

Post by GaelZorro »

Hello to all,

I'm quite new to the STM32, I made some projects with ESP8266 / ESP32 and I'm in the process of porting these to customs boards with STM32F103 and a W5500 ethernet interface base because I think it is better solution...
One feature that I'm using very often is the remote firmware update, via an HTTP web server or by downloading the BIN file from a specific URL.
These particular units will be hidden in not easily accessible locations so a remote firmware update without having to plug in a USB or FTDI is really important!

I'm looking for examples of this using stm32duino, but I can't seem to find any. I am not an expert programmer, do you think it would be possible for me to port something like the "Update" library from the arduino-esp32 : (https://github.com/espressif/arduino-es ... ies/Update) for use onto the STM32F103?

Thanks in advance for any advice!
Juraj
Answers: 1

Re: Firmware update through Ethernet

Post by Juraj »

My ArduinoOTA library still doesn't have support for STM32, but you could try the upload over SD card with the SD bootloader. Use the ATmega_SD example.
https://github.com/jandrassy/ArduinoOTA
viewtopic.php?f=67&t=144

I work on testing it, but I can't make my Blue Pill reliably work with SPI devices. (I blame my bad soldering of headers right now.)
GaelZorro

Post by GaelZorro »

Thanks for the suggestion!

I've seen that it is possible, but due to the fact that these units will be hidden there's no easy way to access the hardware.

I guess I'll play around with it and try to make something work, I don't see why it wouldn't be possible. The MCU I work with is the STM32F103RE and with 512K of flash there's plenty of space.
Juraj
Answers: 1

Post by Juraj »