GD32F103VET6 board

Boards based on the GigaDevices GD32F103 microcontroller
User avatar
RogerClark
Posts: 7447
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 10:36 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: GD32F103VET6 board

Post by RogerClark » Mon Feb 29, 2016 10:07 pm

@cazimirb

Thanks.

Bad connections on micro USB is a very common problem.

Often these connectors break off the board :-(

I recommend that people put glue over the connector to hold it down. I use a hot glue gun, but epoxy glue etc also works well

User avatar
mrburnette
Posts: 1877
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 12:50 pm
Location: Greater Atlanta
Contact:

Re: GD32F103VET6 board

Post by mrburnette » Tue Mar 01, 2016 2:47 am

cazimirb wrote: <...>
Now I can confirm that GD32F103VET6 is pin compatible with STM32F103VCT6 and works with GD32duino.
Now, this is cool to know.

Thx,

Ray

User avatar
cazimirb
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2015 1:58 pm
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Re: GD32F103VET6 board

Post by cazimirb » Tue Mar 01, 2016 10:54 pm

After loading the GD32duino bootloader from STM32 ST-Link utility, I compiled and uploaded via USB a blink sketch from Arduino (selecting GD32F103C8 board).
Then, I tried again to connect the board via SWD, from STM32 ST-Link utility. The connection worked only after setting 'connect under reset' - pressing and releasing RESET while connecting to target. I couldn't connect otherwise..Maybe this info is helpful to someone..

User avatar
RogerClark
Posts: 7447
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 10:36 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: GD32F103VET6 board

Post by RogerClark » Tue Mar 01, 2016 11:05 pm

The reason you have to do connect under reset, is that the SWD pins get allocated as GPIO when the upload method is not STLink
So STLink will not connect, and you have to use connect under reset

If you upload directly to the board using STLink (no bootloader), then the SWD pins do not get allocated as GPIO, so you should not need to connect under reset

User avatar
cazimirb
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2015 1:58 pm
Location: Bucharest, Romania

Re: GD32F103VET6 board

Post by cazimirb » Wed Mar 02, 2016 10:58 am

Got it, thanks Roger.

simonf
Posts: 180
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2015 4:03 pm

Re: GD32F103VET6 board

Post by simonf » Thu Jun 02, 2016 1:54 am

Looks like there's a reasonable priced dev board coming along to try this out $US6

https://world.taobao.com/item/524685248 ... 0.0.JPoGEX

It will be a while before it hits ebay/aliexpress (if it ever does)

User avatar
RogerClark
Posts: 7447
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 10:36 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: GD32F103VET6 board

Post by RogerClark » Thu Jun 02, 2016 2:08 am

You have to be brave to use TaoBao

Often the agents fees make things much more expensive than just doing a direct currency conversion from the price shown on TaoBao its self

simonf
Posts: 180
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2015 4:03 pm

Re: GD32F103VET6 board

Post by simonf » Thu Jun 02, 2016 2:27 am

RogerClark wrote: Often the agents fees make things much more expensive....
I had an agent about 15 years ago, He produced PC103 boards. I sent him a list of computer stuff I wanted and he would get bundle it all together and ship it. He usually negotiated a fee from the seller so often it did not cost me more than I had been quoted by the manufacturer, but we were talking combined orders of $20K+ .

I would not mind buying 100 blue pill GD32 boards If I could get them at a reasonable price I buy the blue pills in 20s. I could just stick em on ebay I am sure there is a premium to be had by their increased speed even @ 72MHz

Post Reply