Variant library makefile problems

The official STMicroelectronics Arduino core
RogerClark

Variant library makefile problems

Post by RogerClark » Thu Sep 29, 2016 10:48 am

Guys

I'm not an expert in makefiles, but there are 2 problems

https://github.com/stm32duino/Arduino_C ... /build_gcc

1. make clean does not appear to work, it only seems to delete the library .a file and leaves all the object files in tact

2. The output of the make / compile is sent to /dev/nul on linux, and on windows they just sent it to "NUL". However on Windows, this just created a file called NUL, which was very hard to delete (you have to do it via a command window)
My temporary fix for the NUL issue is to use NUL.txt so at least its deletable, but from what I understand it should be possible to redirect to nul on widows, some way or another

Edit

LOoks like issue 1 is caused because they used "cs-rm" Mentor Sourcery CodeBench command line

I will probably just replace cs-rm -rf
with

rm -r *

edit looks like rm -Rf works for windows as well as Linux, so I"m not sure why Wi6Labs chose to use cs-rm

Pito

Re: Variant library makefile problems

Post by Pito » Thu Sep 29, 2016 11:29 am

My experience is in windows you need "special" variants of make, mkdir, rm, cp etc to be happy.
There are various versions flying around, some will simply silently not do what you would expect :?
It took me a week to recognize that, as the makefile "worked", but some details inside were not executed properly.
Something like:

Code: Select all

-include $(shell mkdir .dep 2>/dev/null) $(wildcard .dep/*)
does work with a right toolset under windows.
Also, for example, an "mkdir -p" with a not good "mkdir" will create a new directory called "-p" for you happily :)
The "/" vs "\" in dir_paths - that is a nightmare in makefiles run under windows - it may ignore silently the directory..
Pukao Hats Cleaning Services Ltd.

RogerClark

Post by RogerClark » Thu Sep 29, 2016 8:55 pm