BennehBoy's Postbag

Tell us about the cool things you've recently got
User avatar
BennehBoy
Posts: 420
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 8:21 pm
Location: Yorkshire
Contact:

Re: BennehBoy's Postbag

Post by BennehBoy » Tue Feb 07, 2017 1:49 pm

Some bits arrived with the postie...

Replacement ST-Link clone - this one works, although it's reporting my maple mini as having only 64kb flash? (given that my code size is currrently 66kb I'm not sure I believe it).

Replacement digitizer/glass for my daughter's iPad.

Image
-------------------------------------
https://github.com/BennehBoy

User avatar
BennehBoy
Posts: 420
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 8:21 pm
Location: Yorkshire
Contact:

Re: BennehBoy's Postbag

Post by BennehBoy » Fri Feb 10, 2017 6:56 pm

10 quid 8 channel logic analyser turned up in the post. Way easier to debug what's going on with my BT uart than echoing data to a serial line and wtahcing it come in on a terminal.

8 channel smd/micro probe clips

some prototyping board.

Image
-------------------------------------
https://github.com/BennehBoy

racemaniac
Posts: 617
Joined: Sat Nov 07, 2015 9:09 am

Re: BennehBoy's Postbag

Post by racemaniac » Fri Feb 10, 2017 7:05 pm

what's the sample rate on that logic analyzer?

i started out with an 8 channel saleae clone that did 24MSPS, now i upgraded it to a 16 channel clone that does 100MSPS. once beyond 100MSPS they really start to get expensive ^^'

User avatar
RogerClark
Posts: 7437
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 10:36 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: BennehBoy's Postbag

Post by RogerClark » Fri Feb 10, 2017 7:39 pm

racemaniac wrote:
i started out with an 8 channel saleae clone that did 24MSPS, now i upgraded it to a 16 channel clone that does 100MSPS. once beyond 100MSPS they really start to get expensive ^^'
I did the same.

But my 100MSPS analysers only operates at that speed if you only want to look 1 or 2 inputs.
If you want to look at 4 inputs e.g. for SPI the speed drops down to 50MSPS and 8 inputs is approx half that speed.

User avatar
BennehBoy
Posts: 420
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 8:21 pm
Location: Yorkshire
Contact:

Re: BennehBoy's Postbag

Post by BennehBoy » Fri Feb 10, 2017 8:32 pm

-------------------------------------
https://github.com/BennehBoy

User avatar
BennehBoy
Posts: 420
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 8:21 pm
Location: Yorkshire
Contact:

Re: BennehBoy's Postbag

Post by BennehBoy » Fri Feb 10, 2017 8:34 pm

The software is a bit finicky to be honest - drivers have to be fudges into windows 10.
-------------------------------------
https://github.com/BennehBoy

User avatar
RogerClark
Posts: 7437
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 10:36 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: BennehBoy's Postbag

Post by RogerClark » Fri Feb 10, 2017 11:36 pm

BennehBoy wrote:The software is a bit finicky to be honest - drivers have to be fudges into windows 10.
Wont it run the Saelogic software ?

Actually if not you can just reflash it, I did the same thing with mine

Well, it was configured to work with the Saelogic sw but I reloaded it to another analyser (can't remember the name) but that software was useless, so i reflashed it back to being Saelogic compatible

Try

https://www.saleae.com/downloads

Basically these all have the same generic chips in them, and the only way the software distinguishes whether it runs on them is set by the USB VID / PID and you can change that quite easily

User avatar
BennehBoy
Posts: 420
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 8:21 pm
Location: Yorkshire
Contact:

Re: BennehBoy's Postbag

Post by BennehBoy » Sat Feb 11, 2017 1:38 am

Cool
-------------------------------------
https://github.com/BennehBoy

User avatar
RogerClark
Posts: 7437
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 10:36 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: BennehBoy's Postbag

Post by RogerClark » Sat Feb 11, 2017 4:43 am

I found the article that discusses how to change the VID / PID on these

http://www.jwandrews.co.uk/2011/12/sale ... ogramming/

I vaguely recall you may need to run the Cypress software on Windows XP because of its drivers

Of course you stand a chance to bricking it, but honestly its worth it, and I managed to swap mine over and back again without any problems

User avatar
BennehBoy
Posts: 420
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 8:21 pm
Location: Yorkshire
Contact:

Re: BennehBoy's Postbag

Post by BennehBoy » Sat Feb 11, 2017 11:37 am

Excellent, I'll have a pop at it later.
-------------------------------------
https://github.com/BennehBoy

Post Reply