[STM32GENERIC] Automated tests

Discussions about the STM32generic core
Post Reply
danieleff
Posts: 336
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2016 8:52 pm
Location: Hungary
Contact:

[STM32GENERIC] Automated tests

Post by danieleff » Sun Sep 17, 2017 5:34 pm

I was FINALLY able do it.

Currently here, pretty raw data: http://danieleff.com/stm32/build_result.php

It was bugging me A LOT not knowing when I change something, will it break compilation for an other chip? This might not mean a lot to others, it is very important to me.

This checks out the latest version from github, and compiles "some things". While successful compilation does not mean it actually works, unsuccessful one is it does not.

I can easily add more stuff, and it almost works for external libraries too, so will be able to check how many% of those compile. (And can compile to other cores too)

F7 fails are because of the old 4.8 compiler... nothing to see there...
There are still some problems by not setting the correct "arduino menu items", they will be corrected with time...

User avatar
RogerClark
Posts: 7497
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 10:36 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: [STM32GENERIC] Automated tests

Post by RogerClark » Sun Sep 17, 2017 9:00 pm

Very interesting.

will you eventually post your script ?

danieleff
Posts: 336
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2016 8:52 pm
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: [STM32GENERIC] Automated tests

Post by danieleff » Mon Sep 18, 2017 6:47 am

The script is here, but basically runs arduino-builder (installed with Arduino IDE)
If you enable verbose compilation output in the IDE, you will see the same command with parameters at the top when compiling any sketch.

The result is simply a json file

User avatar
RogerClark
Posts: 7497
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 10:36 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: [STM32GENERIC] Automated tests

Post by RogerClark » Mon Sep 18, 2017 7:08 am

Thanks

Post Reply