SD / Memory bottleneck, any ideas?

Working libraries, libraries being ported and related hardware
ipsilondev

SD / Memory bottleneck, any ideas?

Post by ipsilondev » Wed Aug 16, 2017 9:06 pm

DISCLAIMER: i'm trying to use the platform to build a commercial product.

Hi everyone :)

first of all, sorry for so many posts, newbie here, asking for advice :)

So i played with my blue pill a lot, trying to squish it as much as i could. My end goal is to build a 16 bit game console (or kind of), but i'm having serious limitation problems, that even after 10 years coding (i have done web, games, image processing etc.. in more than 10 languages, including c and c++) i don't see a way out (not trying to presume here, just giving out a bit of context in the type of knowledge i have :D ).

My main problem is that i can't allocate the resources fast enough. i need to achieve at least 24fps on 240x320, to have something playable. In my test i used RGB images, binary encoded, little endian, pushing the color pixels directly in the LCD. My problem in that context is the SD transfer rate. i got at best, 400kb/s on SPI2, with a buffer of 10kb and using SDFatEx (i had only 15kb of free ram, so i was using almost all my ram). Anywhere, still, i only see posts of people here only getting at maximum, 800kb/s, so it doesn't really make a difference in the kind of graphic i need to load (if i want to load directly from SD, i need at least 5mb/s).

Think that only the background of a game itself needs to be used on every frame re-draw (whiteout counting the characters, or enemies, that *maybe* i can store on memory). And in theory, i could only read 700 bytes per frame maximum, to achieve the 30fps.

using a compressed image type isn't either an option for the small cpu.