ST-link clone by baite

devan
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat May 14, 2016 1:45 am

Re: ST-link clone by baite

Post by devan » Thu Jun 08, 2017 11:53 pm

RogerClark wrote:It could be that RST is SWIM_RST, in which case its not a problem because UART can be on PB6 and PB7, but if RST means T_NRST that appears to be on another pin
In my experience, all of the metal dongles have the SWIM_RST pin exposed, not T_NRST (there are notes floating around from people complaining the RST doesn't work in SWD/JTAG mode, because of this).
RogerClark wrote:The other problem seems to be the pullup and series resistors, as it prevents serial loopback working.
I don't think I've run into that before - loopback works fine on the dongle I tested, but there are lots of variants out there (I even found a metal dongle with an F103 instead of an F101).

Here are my notes from the last time I opened one up and probed the pins:

Code: Select all

From left to right, GND, 5V, SWDIO, SWCLK, with GND nearest the USB connector.
PB6 is connected to TGT-RST (40ohms)
PB13 is connected to TGT-SWCLK (40ohms)
PB14 is connected to TGT-SWDIO (40 ohms)
PB11 is connected to TGT-SWIM (40 ohms)

PB5 is connected to PB6 through a 220 ohm resistor.
PB12 is connected to PB14 through a 100 ohm resistor
PB10 is connected to PB11 through a 220 ohm resistor
PA5 is connected to PB13

Permanent 1.5k pull-up from USB D+ to 3.3V

PA9 connected to blue LED through 1.5k resistor
red LED conected directly to SWCLK or SWDIO, active low

User avatar
RogerClark
Posts: 6402
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 10:36 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: ST-link clone by baite

Post by RogerClark » Thu Jun 08, 2017 11:58 pm

@davan

OK.

I tried a Baite STLink and loopback didnt work, but it would communicate to another USB to Serial adaptor

I'm probably going to find and remove the pullup (which could be as low as 680 ohms !)

My Baite STLink has a F103 in it, but from what people have posted recently they now contain F101's

I bought several Baite versions when they came out, because they had the F103 in them, and they fully run the normal bootloader and code etc.
And there are a few more pins broken out to the back connector, as I thought they may come in handy for some projects where I needed a Dongle form of board

But so far I've not found a use for them apart from STLinks and BMP's

vargham
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2017 3:49 pm

Re: ST-link clone by baite

Post by vargham » Wed Jun 28, 2017 3:35 pm

I ordered two at the same time from the same store. One has 101 and the other has 103. :-)

User avatar
RogerClark
Posts: 6402
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 10:36 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: ST-link clone by baite

Post by RogerClark » Wed Jun 28, 2017 9:39 pm

vargham wrote:
Wed Jun 28, 2017 3:35 pm
I ordered two at the same time from the same store. One has 101 and the other has 103. :-)
LOL...

BTW. They still did not respond to my contact request on their Aliexpress store apart from saying the would pass the information on to an engineer.

I just can't comprehend how these companies operate. Perhaps it's just a one man operation.

aster
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2017 2:41 pm
Location: bella italy
Contact:

Re: ST-link clone by baite

Post by aster » Sat Jul 08, 2017 10:04 am

Would be possible to use a stlink with f101 as bmp? Or it is better to use a black/blue pill?

zmemw16
Posts: 1297
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 2:09 pm
Location: St Annes, Lancs,UK

Re: ST-link clone by baite

Post by zmemw16 » Sat Jul 08, 2017 11:12 am

pretty sure this has been asked/mentioned somewhere above ?
istr usb-stlink sticks needs some wires tacking on, but any tacking required would a lot easier on the pill
stephen

User avatar
RogerClark
Posts: 6402
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2015 10:36 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

Re: ST-link clone by baite

Post by RogerClark » Sat Jul 08, 2017 12:43 pm

aster wrote:
Sat Jul 08, 2017 10:04 am
Would be possible to use a stlink with f101 as bmp? Or it is better to use a black/blue pill?
Depends if just want SWD or want Serial as well.

Only some have the connections for both.

aster
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2017 2:41 pm
Location: bella italy
Contact:

Re: ST-link clone by baite

Post by aster » Sat Jul 08, 2017 2:05 pm

zmemw16 wrote:
Sat Jul 08, 2017 11:12 am
pretty sure this has been asked/mentioned somewhere above ?
istr usb-stlink sticks needs some wires tacking on, but any tacking required would a lot easier on the pill
stephen
It has been discussed for the f103 based st link. No one ever asked for the f101 if i m not wrong
RogerClark wrote:
Sat Jul 08, 2017 12:43 pm

Depends if just want SWD or want Serial as well.

Only some have the connections for both.
Both would give a better debugging experience :D

I forgot to send the pictures of my stlink f101

Image
Image

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests