Page 4 of 5

Re: New APM32F103CB

Posted: Mon Apr 06, 2020 2:56 pm
by Pito
Squonk42 wrote: Mon Apr 06, 2020 10:17 am Good!

So, just a simple single-precision floating point ALU with Cordic exposed in peripheral address space.

No SIMD vector or MAC operations and no saturation, so almost useless for all DSP usage.

Better than nothing :-(
I doubt there will be Cordic. They do it standard way, imo.

Re: New APM32F103CB

Posted: Sat May 09, 2020 12:37 pm
by blue-man
I received now some of the APM32F103CB black pills from RobotDyn.

Today I tried to use the library from the SDK to compile a little first test program of the FPU.
But it seems the beginner needs a tip how to use this precompiled library sc_math.lib in STM32Duino.

I get the compile error:

Code: Select all

.../arduino15/packages/STM32/tools/xpack-arm-none-eabi-gcc/9.2.1-1.1/bin/../lib/gcc/arm-none-eabi/9.2.1/../../../../arm-none-eabi/bin/ld: /tmp/arduino_build_835900/sketch/APM-Test.ino.cpp.o: in function `loop':
APM-Test.ino.cpp:(.text.loop+0x26): undefined reference to `sc_math_sin(float)'
I already tried to rename the .lib to .a or .so without success.

Re: New APM32F103CB

Posted: Sun May 10, 2020 5:02 pm
by blue-man
The compilation problem is principally solved viewtopic.php?f=39&t=405 - but leads to other errors ..

Re: New APM32F103CB

Posted: Sun May 10, 2020 5:07 pm
by blue-man
The really disappointing thing is that the APM32F103CB has no FPU !

The MCU of the black pill from RobotDyn is described with an FPU https://github.com/RobotDynOfficial/Doc ... -MCU-Board
Now i found out that only APM32E103 models have an FPU! https://www.apexmic.com/uploads/tool/MC ... 496340.pdf
The E stands for Enhanced.

So this black pill can be seen as an blue pill with 128KB flash memory.

Re: New APM32F103CB

Posted: Sun May 10, 2020 9:38 pm
by ozcar
blue-man wrote: Sun May 10, 2020 5:07 pm The really disappointing thing is that the APM32F103CB has no FPU !
I was just looking at the Robotdyn site yesterday and saw there where they say "with a higher frequency 96MHz (1.5DMIPS) and a built-in FPU". They go on with more about the benefits of having the FPU.

So did you advise them of this? Maybe they did not know they were lying?

Edit: I just noticed that the 96MHz is also only the Enhanced version.

Re: New APM32F103CB

Posted: Mon May 11, 2020 12:10 am
by fredbox
Looks like bootsector already reported this to their github.

Re: New APM32F103CB

Posted: Mon May 11, 2020 7:11 am
by blue-man
ozcar wrote: Sun May 10, 2020 9:38 pm So did you advise them of this? Maybe they did not know they were lying?
Edit: I just noticed that the 96MHz is also only the Enhanced version.
Yes - an dispute is opened with the correct informations.

Re: New APM32F103CB

Posted: Sat May 16, 2020 5:43 pm
by fredbox
Quoting from a different thread:
arpruss wrote: Wed Apr 15, 2020 5:01 pm I would love to hear how well the APM32 functions. It seems very promising, except the costs are a bit high for smaller quantities. I am particularly curious if USB is fully functional at the higher clock rate, and whether power usage is comparable.
20 pieces from the RobotDyn store on Ali is about $29. There is a discount for 20 pieces and free shipping over $25. https://www.aliexpress.com/item/4000807291937.html
I've noticed that Ali now charges state sales tax.
I paid nearly that much for the original Arduino many years ago.

Re: New APM32F103CB

Posted: Sun May 17, 2020 7:44 am
by blue-man
Please remember that all additional functionality maybe only when you get the APM32E103 !
But i have never seen an offer for it. ;)

So you get an "STM32F103-Clone" with 128KB flash memory - not more.

When you compare the dies you can see that there is no additional space for such a FPU-logic.
APM32F103C8T6: https://www.richis-lab.de/STM32_05.htm
CKS32F103C8T6: https://www.richis-lab.de/STM32_03.htm


The same chip has been used on a Blue-Pill as STM32-Fake.

Re: New APM32F103CB

Posted: Sun May 17, 2020 12:12 pm
by Kenjutsu
blue-man wrote: Sun May 17, 2020 7:44 am So you get an "STM32F103-Clone" with 128KB flash memory - not more.
Have you tested it under STM32 Core and if so, which option did you select under Board part number?

TIA ;)